Mellissa's Grandma's Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AylaCree
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I added a little sugar and fresh berries for decoration. It's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I cooked the berries on the stove longer it wasn't as watery. My husband and i really enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was very good. I followed the directions exactly as written, other than accidentally boiling the berries a little to long because I got busy!!! I think they were boiling for 11 minutes instead of the 5... It was perfect!! I don't see why anyone would say different.. :) Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have not tried this yet but it looks and reads exactly like my step-father-in-law's blackberry cobbler and peach cobbler recipe. We liked it a bit runny so as to scoop warm juice over the vanilla ice cream. He would boil the filling and put in bits and strips of crust so they were like sweet dumplings. Looking at yours makes my mouth water...Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a hit with my family... I used a pound cake recipe for the topping because that's how my Great Aunt made hers.... The berry syrup mix was awesome... Thanks to Mellissa and her Grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe, 1/2 blackberries 1/2 apples. Had only rave reviews. Did not have any problem with it setting, it sets as it cools. I actually had to make a second batch, since I didn't get a taste of the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I think this was overly sweet and I cut down the sugar in the berries. Maybe that would be a function of the berries. This isn't my favorite blackberry cobbler but not the worst. I think using juice instead of water and cutting down the sugar would help tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It tastes really good but it does not set even though I kept adding cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Tried it twice. Too runny, doesn't set up. Too much water. Why are you boiling the blackberries? Too hot of an oven. I would change, make the simple syrup and pour over the uncooked blackberries, don't add the milk to the topping, just crumble it together with the butter, and turn down the heat!!!! 350 is correct temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States