Melitzanes Imam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and have it several times a month with couscous and grilled courgettes. It is a simple dish to prepare, looks very pretty (as someone else said) and is absolutely delicious. I have stuck with the original recipe but always make much more then we need as its wonderful the next day for lunch. Thank you for this great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have no idea why anyone would give this less than five stars! It was absolutely to die for -definitely worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
awesome!! i used fresh garlic, scallions, 1 eggplant, 2 juicy ripe tomatoes, prilla briton leaves (my boyfriend and my favorite find of the year - beautiful purple and green basil-like leaves used in korean recipies that act like sushi wraps) and two green peppers from our garden and the farm he works at all picked in the last 30 hours. i sprinkled sea salt while cooking and cinamon when served with jasmine rice. its was one of the most satisfying surprises in a long time. thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I had time to kill, so I caramelized the onions first. I also used extra garlic and coriander instead of cinnamon. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good dish. I didn't bother with the roasting of the skin, but just peeled it and did everything in the skillet. I served it over basmati rice and it was filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Golden Currant
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing recipe! I didn't have any tomatoes, so I tripled the amount of tomato paste and threw in some mushrooms and red peppers to make it a little more stuffed. After scooping out the eggplant halves and baking them twice, the "1 cm" of actual eggplant "meat" had completely dissolved. It burnt a bit around the edges, but it was nonetheless delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I did some of the suggestions...pinch of nutmeg, red pepper flakes to taste. Will peel off the skin and cook without it in the future...just to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Good, could use more flavor, not sure what is missing. My can of diced tomatoes had basil, oregano and garlic in it. I didn't add 1 TBL of tomato paste. Next time I will try the suggestions of red peper flakes, nutmeg and serve with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great receipe. I was hesitant to try it just because the combination of ingredients seemed odd to me. I was not expecting it to be tasty at all. Much to my delight, it was wonderful. I did not salt the eggplant as others did. I didn't find it bitter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It's really good but make sure to cube your eggplant into small pieces so that it doesn't take forever to cook like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States