Melitzanes Imam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
awesome!! i used fresh garlic, scallions, 1 eggplant, 2 juicy ripe tomatoes, prilla briton leaves (my boyfriend and my favorite find of the year - beautiful purple and green basil-like leaves used in korean recipies that act like sushi wraps) and two green peppers from our garden and the farm he works at all picked in the last 30 hours. i sprinkled sea salt while cooking and cinamon when served with jasmine rice. its was one of the most satisfying surprises in a long time. thanks for the recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe and have it several times a month with couscous and grilled courgettes. It is a simple dish to prepare, looks very pretty (as someone else said) and is absolutely delicious. I have stuck with the original recipe but always make much more then we need as its wonderful the next day for lunch. Thank you for this great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very good! I added some nutmeg and a little bit of red pepper flakes. Served it with couscous. Makes for a very pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I did change this recipe so was between 3 and 4 stars.... It was well received at my dinner party, but I did use fresh garlic (2 cloves), roasted peepers as well as eggplant and cut both up into smaller pieces once they were roasted. I also put some grated cheese on top when I put it back in the oven which I think made it even better. Having just been to turkey we were craving the food from there and were quite happy with this. Thanks Mrs Forrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I have no idea why anyone would give this less than five stars! It was absolutely to die for -definitely worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good dish. I didn't bother with the roasting of the skin, but just peeled it and did everything in the skillet. I served it over basmati rice and it was filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was a very surprising dish. I thought it was going to be plain, but the cinnamon really added to the flavor. I changed the recipe a bit and cooked tofu with the onions and garlic in the beginning. I also salted the eggplant and let it drain in a strainer about an hour before I cooked it. That helped with the bitterness. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Surprisingly tasty, given how simple the ingredients were. Love this because I had all the ingredients in the pantry except the eggplant. Very easy and satisfying with couscous, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSaturdayNight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I had time to kill, so I caramelized the onions first. I also used extra garlic and coriander instead of cinnamon. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I would have liked this better if I used a tomato sauce instead of the diced tomatoes. Personal preference. This was just ok. I sprinkled some parm. on top before the last baking. If I do make this again, I'll make the change with the tomatoes, and perhaps salting and draing the eggplants first before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States