Melissa's Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was fantastic. I used a a can of diced tomatoes with chiles, which added great flavor. The broth was a little watery(but so was my can of diced tomatoes), so the mussels were removed when cooked, and the liquid was reduced. This was served over angel hair. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barn Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Big disappointment. Edible, but wrong so many ways. First of all, there were 3 big eaters and I bought just 2 pounds of mussels and we had leftovers (maybe wouldn't have if they had tasted better), but 2 pounds for 3 was ample - not 5 pounds for 4! Secondly, boil 10 minutes and then lower heat and cook another 5 until the shells open? You're kidding, right? The shells opened within a couple of minutes in the pot. That left the onion and garlic not cooked enough and the beer taste very pronounced. Glad I didn't bother with the linguini, as the the broth was, well, broth-like and not likely to stick to anything. We fished out the mussels and ate the bread. First time I had tried a recipe that included both beer and red wine. Probably the last. Try another recipe. At $4.99 a pound, mussels deserve better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Easy and Excellent. I didn't use the peppercorns and didn't miss them. The cooking instructions were right on for plump well cooked, but not chewy mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was my first time making mussels at home; this recipe was easy and delicious. I stuck to the recipe, but added mushrooms, and served over pasta. My teenager and I loved it! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Sorry but this was just OK. It was missing flavour. Maybe a little red pepper or more garlic,believ it or not. The sauce was too thin for pasta. Oh well, at least it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Melissa's recipe is terrific, just like the other reviewers said! I served it over linguine and sprinkled red hot pepper flakes on top for an added kick. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOXFIRE2
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I didn't have the onion and used onion powder instead, used red cooking wine in place of red wine. I used canned plum tomatos and pureed the ingredients. It seemed to have a really nice flavor before mussels added. But as the mussels cooked, the sauce thinned and lost flavor. I imagine not using the onion & real red wine made a difference in the flavor. I prefer a white wine base with garlic instead of tomatoe/red wine base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Served this one for the dinner tonight. Simple and easy. 100% satisfaction from my girlfriend and tons of kisses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I added two chopped serrano peppers to the recipe and salt. Melissa's recipe is outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ameliasburgh, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Absolutely delicious - wouldn't change a thing! Made it for an appetizer before our baked haddock dinner & it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States