Melissa's Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
My family loves this. It is a great comfort food especially on cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Really surprisingly flavorful broth! This was delicious with tortilla chips and a little bit of cheese! Its a definite comfort food soup, it was my meat-and-potatoes husband's first choice when asked what he'd like me to make for dinner. I simmered this an extra amount of time in a crock pot after cooking it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I thought this was very good and filling. I didn't have an onion, so I substituted onion powder. I used homemade green verde sauce instead of green chili peppers. It was good, but I thought it could have used a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
While I had to work with this one, the concept is great. I used Rotel mild tomato and chili sauce, lots more onions, two cans of chopped Hatch chilis, and chicken stock instead of water. It was very flavorful and chill-chasing good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agent229
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
i'm from new mexico and i would definitely use beef stew meat, ground pork, or other pork meat instead of ground beef. it's ok with ground beef, i use it sometimes, but i prefer the others instead... you may need to cook it longer for the stew meat to really soften. i would also add a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agent229

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Not bad. I added about 16 oz of beef broth since I wanted more of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Use pork chunks instead of ground beef and chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I will use less potatoes and more green chiles. I added garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My Grandma and Grandpa were the masters of this dish. It's definitely a comfort food. The proportions in the recipe are good, but I go through the whole process of roasting and peeling green chile when I make it. I cook the onion along with the beef and drain. We like ours with more liquid, so I always add beef broth. In addition, the posted recipe didn't use garlic, but it is a must have. Green chiles without garlic is like pizza without cheeze. It's a great base to tweak to your own liking. Also, it's really inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I make this every couple weeks it's the best I have few changes I add more onion and also garlic powder. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States