Melissa's Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Really surprisingly flavorful broth! This was delicious with tortilla chips and a little bit of cheese! Its a definite comfort food soup, it was my meat-and-potatoes husband's first choice when asked what he'd like me to make for dinner. I simmered this an extra amount of time in a crock pot after cooking it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This was average, after I finally put enough salt in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
My family loves this. It is a great comfort food especially on cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was alright and fairly easy to prepare. I used pork, increased the green chiles and added a couple cloves of garlic. Since I used mild chiles it was on the bland side for my taste so I added about a 1/2 t. cayenne pepper and 1/2 t. ground hot hatch green chile. Was still fairly mild but the spice enhanced it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Use pork chunks instead of ground beef and chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Even with my changes to the recipe, this was just ok. We were disappointed that it was so bland. I used 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of beef broth and omitted the water. I also increased the amount of chopped onions to 3/4 cup, added 2 cloves of minced garlic and a TBSP of worcestershire sauce. I used a combination of chopped hot peppers, and the stew is still only mildly spicy. We will try one more time with more revisions like using stew meat rather than ground beef and more peppers and onions and garlic. Hopefully, this will be a keeper after our next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I thought this was very good and filling. I didn't have an onion, so I substituted onion powder. I used homemade green verde sauce instead of green chili peppers. It was good, but I thought it could have used a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
While I had to work with this one, the concept is great. I used Rotel mild tomato and chili sauce, lots more onions, two cans of chopped Hatch chilis, and chicken stock instead of water. It was very flavorful and chill-chasing good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Not bad. I added about 16 oz of beef broth since I wanted more of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My Grandma and Grandpa were the masters of this dish. It's definitely a comfort food. The proportions in the recipe are good, but I go through the whole process of roasting and peeling green chile when I make it. I cook the onion along with the beef and drain. We like ours with more liquid, so I always add beef broth. In addition, the posted recipe didn't use garlic, but it is a must have. Green chiles without garlic is like pizza without cheeze. It's a great base to tweak to your own liking. Also, it's really inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States