Melissa's Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I make this every couple weeks it's the best I have few changes I add more onion and also garlic powder. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I will use less potatoes and more green chiles. I added garlic also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by agent229
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
i'm from new mexico and i would definitely use beef stew meat, ground pork, or other pork meat instead of ground beef. it's ok with ground beef, i use it sometimes, but i prefer the others instead... you may need to cook it longer for the stew meat to really soften. i would also add a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agent229

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Using cubed sauteed pork or chicken instead of ground beef, using chicken broth instead of water, adding oregano and garlic, cubed cooked potatoes, and a drained can of pinto beans will elevate the taste. Please use only fresh or frozen green chile. Top stew with grated cheese and/or sour cream and serve with warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My Grandma and Grandpa were the masters of this dish. It's definitely a comfort food. The proportions in the recipe are good, but I go through the whole process of roasting and peeling green chile when I make it. I cook the onion along with the beef and drain. We like ours with more liquid, so I always add beef broth. In addition, the posted recipe didn't use garlic, but it is a must have. Green chiles without garlic is like pizza without cheeze. It's a great base to tweak to your own liking. Also, it's really inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Not bad. I added about 16 oz of beef broth since I wanted more of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
While I had to work with this one, the concept is great. I used Rotel mild tomato and chili sauce, lots more onions, two cans of chopped Hatch chilis, and chicken stock instead of water. It was very flavorful and chill-chasing good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I thought this was very good and filling. I didn't have an onion, so I substituted onion powder. I used homemade green verde sauce instead of green chili peppers. It was good, but I thought it could have used a little something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Even with my changes to the recipe, this was just ok. We were disappointed that it was so bland. I used 2 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of beef broth and omitted the water. I also increased the amount of chopped onions to 3/4 cup, added 2 cloves of minced garlic and a TBSP of worcestershire sauce. I used a combination of chopped hot peppers, and the stew is still only mildly spicy. We will try one more time with more revisions like using stew meat rather than ground beef and more peppers and onions and garlic. Hopefully, this will be a keeper after our next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Use pork chunks instead of ground beef and chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States