Melissa's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This receipe was very good. I add 1 tsp. basil and 2 bay leaves. Melissa's was the most italian of those I found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I normally don't like to try a recipe that has no reviews but any recipe that starts with a jar of marinated artichoke hearts is worth a try! My family and I were not disappointed! I didn't have Madeira wine so I substituted Chicken broth. Also, most of the spices I had dried from my garden so I only guessed the amount I put in (I may have been a little heavy handed). I would love to try this recipe with sausage instead of chicken and add some fresh spinach to the mix and some feta cheese along with the mozzarella. But it was very good the way it was written. Thanks Melissa for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was delicious! So happy to have come upon this recipe. I was in search of a faceless recipe and was pleasantly surprised to find one this delicious! I used sherry instead of the Madeira wine and I left out the olives as we aren't fans of them. So many wonderful flavors in this dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I thought I'd try this with hot and sweet Italian sausage (bulk meat-no casings) and substituted sliced green bell peppers for the artichokes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
We LOVED this, but I did make a few changes! In addition to the chicken, I also added in some sweet Italian sausages, cut into chunks, that I boiled for a bit and then cooked in the pan w/ the chicken to brown. I didn't use the amount of oregano/basil that was called for b/c I didn't want a strong herb-y flavor, so I just used some Italian seasoning, to taste. Also, didn't have the wine that was called for, so I just used a nice splash of white wine and that worked for us. Totally forgot the mozz. cheese, but will add it next time (not that it even needed it). Everyone really enjoyed the flavors of this, and I it was so easy to make! This is a keeper for my family~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I really loved this recipe. I didn't remove the sauce from a pan and put in a 9x13; I really didn't see the point of dirtying a lot of large dishes, so instead when I removed the chicken, I just put it in a bowl, then put it back in with the rest and popped the whole pan of sauce into the oven (I used an oven safe skillet that I use for Shephard's pie). I had limited time when I made this, and had to walk away, so I didn't end up putting any wine or cheese on this dish, but I can't say I noticed the lack at all. I did add more olives than called for ( a whole can) and left them whole, as hubs does not care for olives. I don't care for mushrooms, though, so I also left them whole; he had my mushrooms and I had my olives, so it worked perfectly. I will probably make this again, and perhaps will remember the wine and cheese this time. I served over spaghetti. This makes a lot of food, but the leftovers are just as good, I don't mind. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was absolutely AMAZING!! I did substitute thyme for rosemary...my personal preference. I did not add in the mushrooms or olives. Other than that, I made the recipe as stated. It was phenomenal and I will make it again in a heartbeat. My boyfriend suggested using the leftovers as a pizza topping and it was so tasty!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Excellent and easy to make. My husband loved it, except for the olives because he doesn't like olives, but there is only 1/3 of a cup so they are hardly noticeable. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe was so delicious. I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
YUM! I made a few changes based on what I had in the house but over all it was the same.. and it was soooo Yummy! Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States