Melissa's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I normally don't like to try a recipe that has no reviews but any recipe that starts with a jar of marinated artichoke hearts is worth a try! My family and I were not disappointed! I didn't have Madeira wine so I substituted Chicken broth. Also, most of the spices I had dried from my garden so I only guessed the amount I put in (I may have been a little heavy handed). I would love to try this recipe with sausage instead of chicken and add some fresh spinach to the mix and some feta cheese along with the mozzarella. But it was very good the way it was written. Thanks Melissa for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful dish with pasta. We did not have Madeira wine, we use chicken broth as other suggested. Came out perfect and very yummy!! Thanks Melissa :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
A huge hit with my husband & teenage son! Made just as the recipe was written (used a cab instead of Madera). Served with fresh green beans & garlic parmesan biscuits. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This receipe was very good. I add 1 tsp. basil and 2 bay leaves. Melissa's was the most italian of those I found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I thought I'd try this with hot and sweet Italian sausage (bulk meat-no casings) and substituted sliced green bell peppers for the artichokes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe was so delicious. I have to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I added black beans and used less chicken. I added green peppers. Served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a nice simple prep dish for a weeknight family meal. I prepared in the morning, covered with foil, and then just poppped in the oven at dinner time. I found it a bit on the bland side even with some doctoring. I added orange and green pepper stips to the mix, a very pretty presentation. I also marinated my chicken in italian dressing for even more flavor, and used some extra spices. Depite these efforts, this just didn't knock me out. The wine was lost, perhaps more in the sauce? Maybe some red pepper flakes, too. And I might add some chunks of hot italian sausage mixed with the chicken pieces. Hubs said this was "not up to my standard", OUCH! But I sincerely thank you for sharing this recipe, I think it was just the wrong dish for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Artichoke hearts are a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was delicious! So happy to have come upon this recipe. I was in search of a faceless recipe and was pleasantly surprised to find one this delicious! I used sherry instead of the Madeira wine and I left out the olives as we aren't fans of them. So many wonderful flavors in this dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States