Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Only 4 stars, as is.... But I modified to our family's taste and they became a 5 star. I think there was a tad too much water... the mixture was too loose. So I added an egg. I also added some worcesteshire to the meat mixture and eliminated the celery salt. I used 2 packages of dried onion soup mix to make a gravy. I make patties , not balls and once the patties (6 generous ones) were browned, I added the soup mixture (dry soup mix, water and flour) to the pan and let it cook 30-45 minutes. Served it with mashed potatoes and watched my family devour it. No leftovers. We like the brown gravy better than the tomato sauce. This is how my mom made it when we were kids in the 50's. Only no onion soup mix ...she made the gravy from scratch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suchaprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
solidly good porcupine recipe! I doubled it and followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
have made for years, always a favorite when kids were home! Use the oven method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Use instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I don't know what everyone else is tasting, but I did not like this recipe at all. The sauce was not good, the rice wasn't cooked, and overall it was not a good dish. Some very simple changes give it 4 stars for me: Instead of tomato sauce, use tomato soup. Instead of W sauce, use vinegar. And instead of regular rice, use instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thank you for this delicious recipe! Try it with bloody Mary mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Was okay but feel like it was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutly LOVE this. THe celery salt is a tad overwhelming, however when you mix everything together, cook the meatballs, and then toss it in the crock pot..mmmm delious. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Definitely a 5 star recipe! Easy to throw together, ingredients I always have on hand, and super tasty! Made as written, was tempted to throw an egg in the meat mixture because it seemed wet but stuck with directions. Served with salad and garlic bread (a must to soak up all the yummy sauce). Thanks for sharing, brought back good memories from family dinners growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Made it in the oven, but I should have doubled the recipe because it went over so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States