Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great kid-friendly recipe! I made this for dinner for my 3 boys and it was a hit with them all - including my picky two year old who only eats salad! I made it just as directed, however, I didn't have celery salt so I doubled the garlic powder and added a bit of worchestershire sauce. I also browned the meatballs in the oven for 15 minutes at 425 before transferring them to the slow cooker where they cooked in the sauce on high for about 2.5-3 hours. I was afraid the sauce would be bland but it was not. An easy meal perfect with a salad and garlic bread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Loved this meal as a kid and fix it for my family now. I melt shredded cheese over the top of it when it is done. I also cook corn as a side dish, so that those of us who want to, can mix in the corn with the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutly LOVE this. THe celery salt is a tad overwhelming, however when you mix everything together, cook the meatballs, and then toss it in the crock pot..mmmm delious. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicious ! Similar to recipe given by dear friend. Made it with 1/2 lb lean ground meat (2 in family), added more oregano & 1/4 c instant rice. Great meal in about 30 minutes, son & a close friend truly enjoyed it, served with lots of sauce, Yummy! Next time I'll use 1 lb for some leftover sandwiches. keenpetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Browned and threw in the crock pot,used instant rice turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicious! Changed: tomato soup for cream of mushroom. Added: chipotle (pepper and hot sauce), cumin, cilantro, red pepper since we live on spicy. I'm excited that the recipe was a success since meatballs and I don't get along yet. All went well, right down to the rice being cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdMae
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Definitely a 5 star recipe! Easy to throw together, ingredients I always have on hand, and super tasty! Made as written, was tempted to throw an egg in the meat mixture because it seemed wet but stuck with directions. Served with salad and garlic bread (a must to soak up all the yummy sauce). Thanks for sharing, brought back good memories from family dinners growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
My whole family loved these meatballs! I used brown rice instead of rice, baked them, and served them over rice, which was great with the tomato sauce. I will definitely be making these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Made this for my family tonight, after a 30+ year old recipe disappeared. This was even better than my old Good Housekeeping recipe. But I did add more rice. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States