Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I added quinoa instead of rice and it was an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews before making. I used regular long grain white rice, not instant. Did them in the oven, and now am simmering them on the stove. The meatballs were done, but the rice was still somewhat crunchy. Hoping this works! Tastes good with the exception of the crunchy rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I liked the base of this recipe. I substituted ground chicken for ground beef and used a dash of celery seed in place of celery salt. I also used instant rice, cut the salt back to 3/4 t, and doubled the garlic powder. I chose to bake the meatballs according to the alternate directions. Our meatballs were a bit larger and needed to bake for an extra 15 minutes, uncovered. This will be a regular on our dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great kid-friendly recipe! I made this for dinner for my 3 boys and it was a hit with them all - including my picky two year old who only eats salad! I made it just as directed, however, I didn't have celery salt so I doubled the garlic powder and added a bit of worchestershire sauce. I also browned the meatballs in the oven for 15 minutes at 425 before transferring them to the slow cooker where they cooked in the sauce on high for about 2.5-3 hours. I was afraid the sauce would be bland but it was not. An easy meal perfect with a salad and garlic bread. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Loved this meal as a kid and fix it for my family now. I melt shredded cheese over the top of it when it is done. I also cook corn as a side dish, so that those of us who want to, can mix in the corn with the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I absolutly LOVE this. THe celery salt is a tad overwhelming, however when you mix everything together, cook the meatballs, and then toss it in the crock pot..mmmm delious. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Delicious ! Similar to recipe given by dear friend. Made it with 1/2 lb lean ground meat (2 in family), added more oregano & 1/4 c instant rice. Great meal in about 30 minutes, son & a close friend truly enjoyed it, served with lots of sauce, Yummy! Next time I'll use 1 lb for some leftover sandwiches. keenpetite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Browned and threw in the crock pot,used instant rice turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States