Melinda's Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
very very good. I had never had porcupine meatballs before. I left out the tomato sauce and made a brown-gravy version only because my son refuses to eat anything with tomato sauce. The whole pan was gone in a matter of minutes. I only had medium grain rice, and was concerned that it might not cook all the way through, so I parcooked it in boiling water for about 4 minutes before adding it to the meat mixture (cooled)...it came out perfect! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. My sauce needed a bit more seasoning, so I will adjust for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leif Borreson
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe was pretty good, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I had to cook it an extra 1/2 hour to have the regular rice be cooked. I did make a couple changes, I used tomato soup in place of half of the tomato sauce, I also added, about 3 tbs of Hickory BBQ sauce and some liquid smoke to the sauce, the rest of the ingredients were the same. I did double the recipe. Also when doing the oven method as I did I suggest broiling on high so the tops of the meatballs get browned before adding the sauce. Overall though it came out very well ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good recipe. I tweeked it by sautéing the onions before adding to the gb and I added 1 Tablespoon vinegar to the sauce to brighten it. I used the oven method and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We baked them in the oven and used a mixture of dried onion soup and a can of mushroom soup in place of tomato sauce. We also sauteed onions, carrots, and celery before adding to hamburger. Added sauteed mushrooms before serving over mashed potatoes. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I've been making this recipe since I was a kid! (many years) I've tweaked it over the years with more seasonings, a bit of hot sauce, etc. but this is the basic recipe I have been using. It's always popular with my family even though it is very basic home cooking. I don't always brown the meatballs first if I don't have time, if you get the sauce boiling in the pan, you can just drop the balls in gently and they will hold together. Or, you can brown them in the oven as others have done to cut back on time. I love the nostalgia of this dish. Sometimes we serve them with baked potatoes, or spaghetti squash or on toasted french sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I've made this recipe for 35 years and it's one of my family's favorites. I think I got it from my Betty Crocker cook book. My kids all requested the recipe when they moved out and now make it for their families. I do agree with some other reviewers that, if the recipe is followed exactly, it can be a little bland. I've learned to spice it up some over the years. I add extra seasoning (italian, more garlic and onion powder) to the meatballs as well as some of the worcestershire sauce. And I also add more seasoning to the sauce...more worcestershire (because we like the flavor), garlic, onion powder and some ketchup, or sugar or even brown sugar. We serve it on toasted french rolls, like a meatball sandwich but it's also good alone with side dishes. Great as leftovers too. I didn't know it could be cooked in the oven though. That's good to know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My Husband makes them and they are a big hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I actually was kind of disappointed with this. The meatballs were actually perfect- it was the sauce that didn't impress me at all. I found it very bland and missing some zip. I had read one of the reviews before making it and someone had suggested using vinegar in the sauce which I think I will try that next time in hopes it gives it the zing that I felt it lacked. My guy loved it though so I will definitely give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States