Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This soup was so good I couldn't sit still and eat it! I am a picky eater however and I don't care for lots of things so I left out the mushrooms, thyme and mixed vegies, I just added extra carrots and potatoes. I also added a little extra liquid at the end as it got real thick. I served it with crusty bread and a fruit salad-awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
My family loved this! I did make some slight changes though. I omitted the frozen vegetables and instead added a handful of fresh string beans snapped into small pieces. I also added a tablespoon and a half of chicken boullion (granules)for a little more flavor. This recipie was easy, healthy & hearty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Really nice soup. I didn't use mushrooms (hubby hates them) and I honestly didn't miss them. I did find that the beef taste needed a bit of a boost so right at the end of cooking I added a shot of beef base concentrate. That was exactaly what the receipe needed. Next time I think I will start with 3 cups of chix stock and 2 cups of beef stock to approximate what I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Leggett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
My husband says he’s a meat and potato man. He says soup doesn’t fill him up. He likes this!!!! I sauté the vegetable along with the meat and warm the broth in the same pan to use the drippings. This is definitely a keeper. This works great in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
i thought this soup was really good. i cooked the barley first because i didn't have the quick cooking kind. i also added some celery and a little more chicken broth at the end because i thought the soup was too quick. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
As with all recipes, I first try them 'as is' even if I've read other reviewers' comments. The soup is thick, almost no broth, not as flavorful and the beef is still chewy though the vegies are perfect. Next time, I stewed the beef in advance so it holds its shape but falls apart when bitten into, adding it and the juices in last 20 min to warm and integrate. I used 4 cups of beef broth and 3 cups of water. I prefer more carrots, so I used 2 cups and omitted the mushrooms and frozen vegies. It was perfect. I still give Melanie kudos for providing a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I used 4 cups of beef broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Great recipe. We loved it. A definite keeper. No need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liushu
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
doubled the broth and it was still stewy, so added a little more while it simmered and voila, soupy. sweet potato instead of white, added celery and parsley and oregano. turned out very colourful, tasted great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Felt the soup didn't have a lot of depth to it. I added a tin of crushed tomatoes and about a tablespoon each of thyme, parsley and a couple of bay leaves, let it simmer for an extra couple of hours then it was good to go. Good base recipe but needed the extra herbs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States