Melanie's Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
So good! And easy. I didn't bother with the additional vegetables and potatoes. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My whole family loved this. It was very easy, versaitle and delicious!. I used 2c beef bullion broth and 3c chicken bullion broth to start and it was enough. I used what veggies I had on hand. This made a nice warm stew (too thick to be a soup.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for. Added a sliced stalk of celery with the onion and used beef broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Loubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Helen, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Lacked a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I used 4 cups of beef broth instead of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very good! I'll definitely be making this again. I froze the leftovers to enjoy later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shefhs45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liushu
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
doubled the broth and it was still stewy, so added a little more while it simmered and voila, soupy. sweet potato instead of white, added celery and parsley and oregano. turned out very colourful, tasted great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liushu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
You really do need to add bouillon cubes or packets to this...but then it's great. My husband gave it 4 1/2 stars...he said it needed a bit more flavor and I had already added 3 beef boullion cubes. I mixed and matched some frozen veggies I had and didn't do mushrooms. Quick and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wonderful soup. My family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States