Meg's Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I have tried several oatmeal chocolate chip recipes and this is by far the best. The previous reviewer must have overdone an ingredient as I did not find it too be to floury or tasteless, in fact, it was quite the opposite. The cookies were excellent and rich with flavor. I even found this recipe better than the 5 star oat/choc cookie recipe that is so popular. I think the key is the dark brown sugar, it just makes the whole cookie. Excellent cookie! I will never use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Although I'd like to, I couldn't give this recipe the full 5 star rating, since I took the advice from some of the other reviews. Here are the small tweaks I made: - 1 full cup more rolled oats - an extra teaspoon of vanilla - half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat - half dark brown sugar and half golden - baked them for only 15 minutes They turned out awesome, soft and chewy and lots of chocolate! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I loved this cookie! The only thing I disagree with is the number of servings. My recipe made 24 3-inch cookies. For it to make only 15 they would have to be really big.... Also, I tried it again and replaced the 2 cups of chocolate chips with 1 cup white chocolate chips and 1 cup macadamia nut halves. Those cookies were YUMMY too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
My family loves Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies and this recipe in particular. I read through the reviews when I made these and finally decided to do and add just what the recipe called for. They turned out phenomenally! What's more I shared these at work and got rave reviews as well. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
yummy indeed. but i did add the extra cup of oats as well as some cinnamon. and less chocolate and some raisins. the base of the cookie is definitely worth 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I'm on always in search of the perrrrfect oatmeal cookie that will be a knock-your-socks off variety. I added 1/2cup chopped toasted walnuts, 1 cup cappucino chips and 1 cup milk chocolate chips to mine, rather than 2 cups of semi-sweet chips. Yum! I, too got more than 15 cookies out of this recipe. Great recipe Megs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
these cookies are delicious!!! also try substituting the chocolate chips with tiny marshmellows... theyre to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Really yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, even down to the cooking time and temp (which I wasn't sure would work well). I had to use half semisweet and half butterscotch chips because that's all I had in the cupboard. Very nice texture. A little crunchy around the outside but chewy on the inside. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by unexpectedtriumphs
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
this is the best oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe I've ever tried, and that's quite a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unexpectedtriumphs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I got almost 50 cookies from the one batch and they were a nice size, too! I divided the dough into thirds: to one, I added dried cranberries, to the second, chocolate chips, and to the third, raisins. I used a miniscoop to get fairly uniformly-sized cookies. I rolled each into a ball in my hands and gently flattened each a tiny bit. I baked the first batch for the full 20 minutes and found them a bit too crispy for my taste. I baked the chocolate chip and raisin ones only 10 minutes until just almost set and let them sit in the pan about 5 minutes, then removed them with a spatula to the cooling rack. I prefer this more tender version. One nice thing about these cookies is that they are not too sweet, although one CAN adjust the sweetness, of course. I will definitely make these again but I probably will add more fruit or chocolate chips next time because they do spread quite a bit while baking and I like to get something in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States