Meghann's Chicken Scallopini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I just wanted add a note to my recipe. Two important steps were changed when the recipe was published so I want to clear that up. I brown the chicken in the skillet, cover with foil and finish it in the oven so I have time to caramelize the onions. I don't fully caramelize them as that would take a while to do, but I cook them for a lot longer than "soft and translucent" to get more flavor from them. They should be pretty mushy. We also like the dish a bit more garlic-y now, so I add a good bit of garlic powder to the cream sauce as it is thickening. Thanks for trying this recipe! I hope this info is helpful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Meghann, this was really good. I did follow your directions on putting the chicken into the oven after browning (I used a combo of butter and olive oil) while finishing the onions. When I fixed the onions, I added the garlic too soon, so use caution because you do not want burned garlic. I used a little more butter for the onions, too, to help with the caramelizing. I was lucky to be making this dish when Vidalias are in season--they are so good. When I went to make the sauce, it just called out to me to add something, so I used a little garlic powder and a few sprinkles of tarragon. I made the sauce a little more in bulk for the meal we were having so that I could pour some over some capellini. Yum! We have some leftovers for another night! Thanks, Meghann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband loved this! He raved about it several times after dinner was over. Of course he loves all creamy sauces. I used fat-free half and half to cut down on the calories. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This recipe is awesome! We loved it. Had everything already, no need to go out and purchase ingredients. Great flavor. I will make this again and again! Thanks Meghann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This was great! I had to add a little more flour to get it to thicken up, but I think I added too much liquid, so that was my fault. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
i loved it! i used a Riesling wine and added capers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was delicious! I made the sauce with half and half and it came out nice and creamy and wonderful. When the sauce was completed, I mixed 2/3 of a pound of brown rice pasta into it and then served the chicken breast sliced on top. It was soooo good!! I also added some minced fresh parsley that I wanted to use up. That added even more flavor! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ossipee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States