Megan's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. I halved it. Added about 1/3 cup,of sesame seeds. And omitted the walnuts. Love it with yogurt. Or over some cooked apples with a scoop of vanilla ice cream it's just like a super quick apple crumble :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Love it! This is my go to granola recipe. After making it several times as written I have made a few changes to the basic ingredients to increase the protein content. I reduced the oats to four cups, and replaced them with 1.5c flax seed, 1.5c almond meal, and 1.5c pepitas. Additionally I leave out the fruit and increase the nuts & seeds called for in the recipe by 1/2 cup each. I have saved this as Nutty Granola in My Fitness Pal if you use that app, 186 calories per quarter cup. Additionally when serving I add a tablespoon of chia seeds to each bowl--if you haven't tried them yet this recipe is the perfect thing to stir them into, so so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is extremely forgiving and versatile. We eat this for cereal, snacks, on yogurt, on ice cream, just about anything! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I agree that as written, this granola is delicious; however, many of us wish to avoid the high level of fat added by the oil. There is a simple substitution for that: instead of 1 cup oil, I use 1/3 cup oil plus beaten egg whites to make one cup total. I also reduce the honey to 1/3 cup and add 1/3 cup of peanut butter to the liquid mixture. No need to boil the liquid mixture. Just mix well and stir for a long time with the dry ingredients before baking. The egg whites and peanut butter add a boost of protein which makes this an even more hearty meal to start the day. It will still crisp up to a crunchy texture as it cools. My family loves it made this way; I've also given packages of my version as gifts and have been told I could found a bakery business on the strength of this granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have tried a few different granola recipes and this one is the best one that I have tried. The only thing I changed was to use coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I really like the added flavor of the coconut and it also makes it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jenmo
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very very good! Made it for my family for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe, except I didn't have any vanilla extract so I used Orange extract. I figured cranberries and orange tastes pretty good together, so why not? I just did a little bit so I didn't overpower it. I followed the recipe except I also halved it and it turned out really good. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have not purchased any store bought cereal in over a year. I make this granola every 2 weeks, my family loves it. I do not add the brown sugar, but use a full cup of honey instead. And use coconut oil instead of vegetable. I also mix up the nuts and fruit, sometimes also adding shredded coconut. Really is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Double this recipe! You will love it that much. I used 12 cups of rolled oats and 1/3 more of all other ingredients. I also added another tablespoon of cinnamon. A hit! Parchment paper to line the baking sheet is a great tip -- it means minimal washing up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is the best granola recipe I have found, turns out crispy and stays that way. I added coconut and that helps to make it clump together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States