Megan's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I use this all the time and love it with Plain Greek Yogurt and fruit for breakfast. I have used blue Agave Nectar in place of the syrup and cocount oil in place of the vegetable oil and still delicious and a little lower in fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is hands down, the best granola recipe I have ever tried. It is absolutely delicious! The only modifications... I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil (based on suggestions); it added a great fragrance as well as flavor. I used cashews instead of almonds (left a few in whole pieces) and I boiled the sugar mixture in the microwave (was quick and easy). When the trays were completely cooled (I did this in the fridge), I chopped the granola up into bite sized squares. The leftover crumbs (about a half gallon), I put into a large ziplock which I had as cereal this morning! It is so yummy, and filling, I cannot wait to share it and the recipe with my co workers. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this recipe today and have never made granola before. For some reason I was intimidated by it. I found this recipe to be very easy and I followed it exactly with the Tablespoon of cinnamon. It turned out absolutely perfect! I can't wait to eat it with my yogurt in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Marie Gorski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Yum. Alter as you wish. I suggest making more sauce than it calls for just in case you need a little extra to coating you put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This granola is the best--not overly cinnamony, not overly sweet. I make it gluten free by swapping wheat germ for coconut flakes and/or extra oat bran. I also swap out the walnuts for pumpkin seeds sometimes. It's so good with yogurt and fruit as a parfait or just eaten dry as a snack at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. I halved it. Added about 1/3 cup,of sesame seeds. And omitted the walnuts. Love it with yogurt. Or over some cooked apples with a scoop of vanilla ice cream it's just like a super quick apple crumble :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Love it! This is my go to granola recipe. After making it several times as written I have made a few changes to the basic ingredients to increase the protein content. I reduced the oats to four cups, and replaced them with 1.5c flax seed, 1.5c almond meal, and 1.5c pepitas. Additionally I leave out the fruit and increase the nuts & seeds called for in the recipe by 1/2 cup each. I have saved this as Nutty Granola in My Fitness Pal if you use that app, 186 calories per quarter cup. Additionally when serving I add a tablespoon of chia seeds to each bowl--if you haven't tried them yet this recipe is the perfect thing to stir them into, so so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is extremely forgiving and versatile. We eat this for cereal, snacks, on yogurt, on ice cream, just about anything! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I agree that as written, this granola is delicious; however, many of us wish to avoid the high level of fat added by the oil. There is a simple substitution for that: instead of 1 cup oil, I use 1/3 cup oil plus beaten egg whites to make one cup total. I also reduce the honey to 1/3 cup and add 1/3 cup of peanut butter to the liquid mixture. No need to boil the liquid mixture. Just mix well and stir for a long time with the dry ingredients before baking. The egg whites and peanut butter add a boost of protein which makes this an even more hearty meal to start the day. It will still crisp up to a crunchy texture as it cools. My family loves it made this way; I've also given packages of my version as gifts and have been told I could found a bakery business on the strength of this granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have tried a few different granola recipes and this one is the best one that I have tried. The only thing I changed was to use coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. I really like the added flavor of the coconut and it also makes it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States