MeeMaw's 5-Star Cole Slaw Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Like the others I had to reduce the ingredients, but perfect cole slaw dressing recipe! Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used the available option to change serving size to 6. I followed the directions and changed nothing (except the serving size), and it is just right for the tastebuds in my family. I placed the dressing in a large mixing bowl. I had a whole head of cabbage to work with, so I shredded the whole head, and added cabbage to the dressing in the bowl till it suited my taste. I refrigerated the slaw for several hours, and checked for "soupiness". The dressing was a little runnier than before, which is quite normal for slaw dressing made at home, so I added more shredded cabbage. As a note: salt and sugar break down the cellular walls in fresh produce, and make stuff begin to "weep". This is well noticed when you sprinkle fresh strawberries with sugar, or fresh cucumbers with salt. So, yes, the sugar and the salt make the cabbage "weepy", but this is normal for coleslaw. This is a great recipe for homemade slaw dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good and very easy. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
TRIED THE RECIPE AND IT WAS OKAY,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is Fabulous!! Tastes so much like "famous chicken fast food" slaw dressing. I adjusted servings for four - only used a heaping 1/4 cup mayo making this very economical - was enough for medium size cabbage, carrots, red onion slaw. Didn't have any celery seed - didn't miss it either! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I hate giving out a five star rating. It implies that there is no room for improvement. Really, this recipe doesn't need improvement. As long as you are careful about the amount of dressing you use on the slaw, it is fool proof. The recipe as it stands makes enough dressing to float a Reagan class aircraft carrier. On the bright side, it will keep for a week or two in a tightly closed mason jar in the fridge. I've made this several times and it is perfect as is, but you can add dill weed, anise seed and cayenne pepper and give it a slightly different attitude. But you don't really need to make changes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
A little runny. Taste great. I cut it in half. Will keep this one but with a bit more mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I loved this and gave it four stars only because I did not have the celery seed so I substituted a dash of celery salt instead plain salt. Really quick and really good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beverlylouise
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Easy, quick & all ingredients on hand. Reduced recipe to 1 1/2 T sugar, 1 T cider vinegar, 1/3 c mayo (maybe more), 1 t mustard (more to taste), 1 t celery seed and kosher salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Loved it! I've been looking for one with celery seed in it that i like and this one is it. I made it exactly as written too. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Empty Mayo Jar Dressing

See an ingenious way to get every last bit of mayo from the jar.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States