Mediterranean Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Although I had to substitute kidney beans for the chickpeas, this came out great. One very important step in working with eggplant is to sprinkle the cut sides lightly with salt, cover with a clean tea towel and weight it with a large bowl or pot in a colander over a dish, for about 30 minutes. This will "weep" out any bitterness in the eggplant. No need to add salt, of course, if you "weep" it this way. My DH, who had never had eggplant before -- being rural Saskatchewan, produce not grown in local gardens is just starting to come into the stores -- loved it, asked for seconds, and has already requested that I place a special order with our produce manager, if that's what it takes to make sure we get in eggplant as often as it is available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This was delicious! I added in some peas and black beans because they were jsut lying around the fridge. There were no garbanzo beans in the cubboard, so I used kidney beans. I love the rosemary in this stew! I added in about a cup of water just to thin the consistancy a tiny bit. Personally, I thought it was delicious even after I had eaten all the ggplant chunks in my bowl and only the rest remained. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Easy and tastes great. We had green peppers and egg plants coming out of our ears this year and this recipe was perfect. The fresh herbs and veggies from the organic garden made it. I also canned it in hopes of enjoying it later this year. Additional note: This cooks really fast so I would suggest chopping everything before cooking so as not to over cook anything. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Really easy and flavorful. Used dried rosemary and parsley, omitted the pepper and added celery. Served over couscous. I bet it would be great with fresh herbs. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
i didn't have any eggplant. so i used carrots and caulifower instead. a really awsome recipe, easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Very tasty and very easy to make. It made a filling but healthy vegetarian meal - I served it in bowls with warm, crusty bread and garlic olive dipping oil on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great veggie meal! I served over whole wheat couscous and topped with a little feta. Added fresh basil and dried oregano as well. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by denise
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
WOW...this was really good. I am usually so lost when it comes to EGGPLANT...figured i would give it a shot. I substituted a few items because i didn't have them in the house when i was preparing. Instead of mushrooms, i used Zuchinni and for the can of crushed tomatoes....i used Diced tomatoes with the roasted onion and garlic already included. When all was said and done the calories of this recipe was almost exact with my substitutions. (115 calories/ 5 proteins per 7.2oz serving) YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Great flavor but not a stew in my view. Tastes very much like Italian Caponata, but not stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
loved this recipe. I did not have red onion (hate it), chickpeas, fresh rosemary or fresh parsley: I subbed in yellow onion, red kidney beans, dried parsley, then tossed in a yellow squash that was looking mutinous in the crisper - the squash added great color. I went light on the olives (1/4 cup) only b/c I got tried of pitting them (bought the wrong bottle). yummy!! love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States