Mediterranean Vegetable Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I made this recipe just as it is written and it was great. I was careful not to overcook the eggplant, and I think I cooked it only 8-10 minutes before adding the tomatoes etc. I didn't use feta, which I might next time because I thought this needed a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lory
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I loved it! The best thing I've made in a long time. I used tomato sauce added angel hair pasta, soooooo gooood! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe. It's simple and a one pot meal, which is something I love. Serve it with some whole grain bread or brown rice to make it extra hearty. I recommend using two or three Asian eggplants in place of one American or Italian eggplant as the Asian varieties are not bitter and thus don't require salting. I also like to use one green pepper and one red pepper to add some extra flavor. Make sure to add salt to taste if you don't use the olives. If you don't like rosemary be sure to add another flavorful herb, otherwise it will be too bland.This dish freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
A great vegetarian meal - tasty and satisfying. Don't skip the feta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
A completely different kind of stew. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motorspitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good but had to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Tasty and very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I used medium sized eggplants, 1 pound of mushrooms and 3 Italian frying peppers (cubanelles). Also I used 4 chopped fresh tomatoes rather than canned. Otherwise, I followed the recipe for the rest of the ingredients. I believe the extra ingredients increased the yield for this recipe to 8 servings. This was easy to make and is a great recipe for late summer when all of the ingredients are in season. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this last night for my mother and fiance. It was my first time cooking eggplant and their first time eating it. I did not have rosemary or parsley which made the meal kind of bland (no one's fault but my own). I did weep the eggplant for about 45 minutes prior to cooking. Overall it is a great base recipe that I will be using again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great veggie meal! I served over whole wheat couscous and topped with a little feta. Added fresh basil and dried oregano as well. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States