Mediterranean Turkey Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
YUM! This is a recipe I'll definitely use for Thanksgiving turkey leftovers! It's definitely perfect anytime of the year,and makes a great packed lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I thought this had a descent flavor, just the vinegar taste was a tad strong. I would make a recipe like this on a weekend, it is more work than it appears chopping, preping, boiling, etc. all of the ingredients and dish clean-up. It's also not with ingredients I typically have in the house. To make the recipe even more lite or lower calories I decided to half the dressing and used whole grain pasta and half the amount of feta using a reduced fat version. I did find that half the dressing was really plenty for the amount of lettuce and pasta used in the recipe. As I was adding the other ingredients I started to reduce them also, to save some chopping time, and also my large bowl was near full to the top already anyhow. I did heat the turkey some up in a pan, for personal preference. Besides this recipe, though, I can see me making another salad or a soup and using the pre-cooked Butterball turkey when in need of convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this, given I'm not a big fan of turkey (unless I'm bowling ;) ). I chose to shred my meat, as opposed to cubing it, simply because I prefer that texture. We don't care for olives, so I subbed some chopped pickled banana peppers. I had less feta than I'd thought, so I added some shredded parm as well. No fresh parsley, so I subbed dry. While I wouldn't buy turkey to make this, I would make this if I had leftover turkey that needed using and/or recommend it to a friend w/leftover turkey. THANKS for the recipe, Butterball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Fabulous! My husband said it's a "do it again", and he doesn't say that very often. Last week, I had grilled a 3lb. Butterball boneless breast of turkey roast to use for their Grilled Turkey Cuban Sandwiches (also on this site). I only used half of it for the sandwiches, so I diced up the rest of the grilled breast and popped it in the freezer for another use. It worked PERFECT having that readily available for this recipe. I did scale this recipe down to 4 servings for my family, and just kind of eyeballed all of the ingredients, with the exception of the vinaigrette. For the vinaigrette, I used 1/8 cup red wine vinegar to 3/8 cups extra virgin olive oil, 2 cloves of crushed garlic & 1 tsp. oregano (as my hubby doesn't care for over-dressed pasta salads). I also added 4 leaves of fresh basil - just because! This one is going in the recipe box. Thanks Butterball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This salad was quite good - although a little too heavy on the olives for my personal taste. I also used a turkey breast roast which I had grilled earlier in the week and subbed rotini for the penne. It made for a nice, light lunch. I would definitely make it again with leftover turkey or grilled chicken, just with fewer olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I don't remember ever having mixed salad greens with pasta before and it was very good. I used the turkey from a fully cooked breast ad it turned out quite nicely. I had some leftover Greek dressing that I made from this site and used that as my vinaigrette (since it had the garlic, oregano, Evoo and red wine vinegar already in it). It came together quite nicely and I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This made a tasty and healthy salad but way too much dressing for us. I recommend making half. This will be on the menu for leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was so good. I didn't have any feta, so I used cubed mozzarella. I also added a half of a sliced orange bell pepper and used a bottled Greek dressing in place of the dressing given in the recipe. Really enjoyed the greens with the pasta. Good even the next day when the greens had wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Such a little thing, but adding the Italian parsley to the greens, without chopping it up, gave a wonderful twist to the whole salad. I was feeding a bunch of fussy eaters so I had to make a few adjustments. I subbed bleu cheese for the feta, omitted the olives and dressed the salad with about 1/4 the dressing stated. This will be served anytime I have leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
For me, a dressing can make or break a great salad. In this case, the dressing just didn't do anything for me. I loved Butterball's Golden Oven Turkey Breast along with the other ingredients, especially the feta. And adding the pasta was a delightful taste twist. Next time I make this salad (a great light meal for left-over turkey at Thanksgiving), I will use a different dressing and enjoy it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States