Mediterranean Roast Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
The flavor of this dish is nice, but if I made it again I would cut way back on the oil and the vinegar. It called for far too much and the veggies were drowning. Also, the recipe will easily work for 6 people. It's a large recipe for four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I took the submitter's suggestion and used vegetables I had on hand. I used sweet red pepper, zucchini, and vidalia onion. I chose not to use potatoes as I was already serving rice with my meal. I drizzled on just enough oil to coat the veggies before roasting. I used white balsamic vinegar, but only used a small amount. Even that amount threatened to overpower the vegetables. I halved this recipe AND skipped the potatoes and this still made a good bit - more than two servings. Because I was roasting a chicken, I needed to roast these veggies at 350 F. After one hour mine were done perfectly at that temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Like anonymous suggested I used what I had, which was 1 fennel bulb, 1 potato (about to sprout), 3 half used onions (I kept forgetting I had already started one), 3/4 of a red bell pepper, a half bunch of asparagus (slightly wilted), 1 zucchini, 8 cloves of garlic and 6 cherry tomatoes that had seen better days. I used just enough oil to coat, then before serving drizzled just a touch more and sprinkled with sea salt & a squeeze of lemon instead of the balsamic vinegar. This was a great way to clean out that veggie drawer! Even with only 1 potato my veggies served 4 with plenty leftover for tomorrow's lunch. Yum. (oh, baked at 400 for 45 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Omitted the peppers, used red potatoes (kept the skins on), cut back on the rosemary, and doubled the fennel as I'm crazy about it atm. As always, I used white balsamic vinegar. Very good. Thanks, anonymous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I thought this was fantastic! Very aromatic while cooking, and the taste is very hearty, almost rustic with the rosemary and potatoes. I stayed pretty close to the original recipe except that I used "Better than Bullion" which is sort of a thick goop instead of powdered bullion and I added some fresh ground pepper. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
this was pretty tasty but by the time the potatoes where cooked through, the veggies where practically mush. i cut back on the oil by a 1/4 and it still ended up being too much. i'd recommend starting with half of the oil and then adding more depending on how it looks the first couple of times you go to stir it. also, i think i would rename the recipes "Mediterranean Roasted Potatoes AND Vegetables" considering the veggies actually end up constituting about 1/3 of the total dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very delicious! I didn't have vegetable bouillion so I used about 1 tsp. of Chicken bouillion. I also did not have the balsamic vinegar, peppers, fennel or zucchini. Instead of fresh rosemary, I used dried rosemary I had in the cupboard. Still the recipe came out delicious, even though I was missing a number of ingredients and substituted items. I tried broiling the potato mixture in the oven, but next time I think I will just bake for about 30+ minutes on 375 degrees. I paired this recipe with the Mediterranean Pork Chop Recipe and it was a delicious combo - link: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/mediterranean-grilled-pork-chops/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=mediterranean%20grilled%20pork%20chops&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page Great recipe, very tasty potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was ok different kind of taste, Im not a fan of Zuccini so I just used the potatoes and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I received a huge fennel bulb on Saturday and had been trying to figure out what to do with it when I found this recipe. I'm so glad I did!! It was MARVELOUS!! I added some of the fresh fennel fronds & used about a tablespoon of dried rosemary & left out the zucchini (didn't have any, but will definitely add it next time). My boyfriend gave it ten stars!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used this as a layer for a dinner salad, so I left out the potatoes and just used the other veggies, but tossed with only 1 T of oil and the salt skipping the bouillon. I roasted for 35 mins then tossed in 2 T balsamic vinegar and roasted another 10 mins. Let cool slightly placed on a bed of lettuce with chicken, feta, green apple and dressing and it turned into a perfectly different Mediterranean salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States