Mediterranean Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is very simple, and I found using fresh basil a nice touch. To avoid a mushy quinoa, you definitely need to cut the stock down to 2 cups, but it also helps if you prep the quinoa like this: rinse it and and drain it, and then put it in a pan and dry toast until a few grains begin to pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I decreased the liquid to 1.5 cups and used beef broth (I had to use it up) and I think that gave it a good flavor. I also used red, yellow and orange peppers, so it was a pretty red-colored dish with the potatoes and green beans I served it with. The quinoa gives a great source of complete protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
The flavour of this was good, but it was mushy and soggy. There must be an error in this recipe. it calls for 3/4 cup of quinoa and 4 CUPS of veggie broth. From what I've read quinoa need a 1:2 ratio (quinoa to liquid) I tried doubling the quinoa. It made a HUGE batch, way more than a family of 4 could eat. I imagine if you reduce the liquid to 1 1/2 cups it might be good. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is an awsome dish! I took suggestions from the other reviewers- I reduced the cooking liquid and added some feta cheese. Also, I used canned tomatoes and used the liquid from the can as cooking liquid. A family member suggested it might make a good filling for stuffed peppers. I'll definately meke this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups of homemade turkey broth to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This would get 5 stars from me if the liquid was adjusted to 2 cups so it wasn't so soggy. Still, we ate it all and my teen son even went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Soooo good and even better the next day for lunch. Even my roommate liked it and he's super picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I whole heartedly agree with the other reviewers regarding the soupiness. This would have 4 stars had I cut down the broth-quinoa ratio. Definately omit 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This recipe taste good but it was to watery. I followed the exact recipe but I expected it to come out like rice where the liquid is absorbed into the quinoa. I'll try less stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Wow! I love this!!! I'm glad I read the other reviews and made it with less broth and more quinoa. I used 2 cups of chicken broth & 1cup quinoa, then took another suggestion and put a little feta on top. I also doubled the garlic because I'm a nut for it. I will be making this one regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States