Mediterranean Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was tasty. I used less water as recommended by other reviewers. Also, I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and used the juice in place of some of the water. I only had red pepper but I added some chopped fresh spinach after about 10 or 15 minutes of cooking which helped make it colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My favorite way to prepare quinoa - it tastes like vegetarian spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Good recipe. I took people's advice and used only 2 cups of water. It worked out well. I also added cherry tomatoes at the end instead of regular tomatoes. I also added a chili pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I whole heartedly agree with the other reviewers regarding the soupiness. This would have 4 stars had I cut down the broth-quinoa ratio. Definately omit 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I read suggestions an altered a little. I sauteed the veggies in olive oil, used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water - perfect!! I also threw some cheddar cheese and turkey ham in. My 9-month old daughter LOVED it and kept wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This would get 5 stars from me if the liquid was adjusted to 2 cups so it wasn't so soggy. Still, we ate it all and my teen son even went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
First time trying Quinoa & I loved it, definitely make this a weekly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I used 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups of homemade turkey broth to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This is an awsome dish! I took suggestions from the other reviewers- I reduced the cooking liquid and added some feta cheese. Also, I used canned tomatoes and used the liquid from the can as cooking liquid. A family member suggested it might make a good filling for stuffed peppers. I'll definately meke this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This recipe is very simple, and I found using fresh basil a nice touch. To avoid a mushy quinoa, you definitely need to cut the stock down to 2 cups, but it also helps if you prep the quinoa like this: rinse it and and drain it, and then put it in a pan and dry toast until a few grains begin to pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States