Mediterranean Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I agree that the lemon flavor really overpowers this recipe. It is better chilled, in my opinion, since that way the lemon is a little less offensive. I will probably make it again and experiment with the lemon and balsamic to find a ratio that is more appealing and less like sucking on an actual lemon. I really like the individual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Roztocil
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was really very good! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This recipe was very tasty. I used only fresh, brined kalamata olives and feta cheese from my local Greek grocer to give it a more authentic Mediterranean type of flavor. I was concerned at the amount of lemon-balsamic dressing that I put on the salad, but the Quinoa had absorbed all of the liquid in a matter of hours. I did however, use just under 1 cup of lemon juice for the dressing because I didn't want to waste the extra I had left, so next time I will stick to the recipe's amount of 2/3 cup.Instead of using green peppers, I added some color by dicing the bottom third each of a red, green & yellow pepper. The peppers were cold & crunchy, I seasoned the chicken breasts before cooking, & I used fresh lemon juice, not the bottled kind, and served it cold. I've been storing quinoa in my pantry for a few months now waiting for just the right recipe to try it out on, and this was it. All in all, it was a hearty, tasty authentic Med-style salad. Thanks for your contribution, Coulter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Used less lemon and salt then called for. I think you could also only use one bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was my first time using Quinoa.I know it is so healthy so I prepared this recipe. What a wonderful surprise! The blend of all of the flavors are oh so wonderful. My husband loves it. This dish would be a great compliment to any potluck or BBQ. This is sure to be my new summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
We liked this recipe but make sure you only add half of the lemon juice! It is too tart and lemony with the full amount. I made some changes, added diced cucumber and quartered grape tomatoes. I left out the red onion and bell pepper. I only added 1/8 c. of oil too, to make it even more healthy. It was yummy but next time I will adjust the lemon juice as I mentioned above. Chickpeas sound yummy in it too! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I used yellow onion, instead of red, because that is what I had on hand and red onion is always a bit strong for my taste. Initially, I made this without the chicken and even adding only half the dressing, it was way too soupy. I then added some chicken, hoping to help the consistency. My husband and I liked it (my daughter ate several bites and my son would not try it), but a little goes a long way. Next time, I will try using red onion and few less olives. I will also add the dressing a bit more gradually to avoid the soupiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is my first "rate". I served it for Mother's Day since it seemed so light and healthy. My provincial relatives (what is QUINOA??) all enjoyed it and I loved it. I used my fresh leftover lemon juice from my homemade limoncello at Easter, and that was the only change in the recipe as written - used about 1/3 cup plus a tablespoon or so, rather than the full 2/3 cups. You have to try this! Easy, just a bit of time for chicken and chopping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was delicious. I replaced the chicken with a can of garbanzo beans to make it vegetarian. But 2/3 cup lemon juice??!! That's insane. I barely used 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
We really liked the recipe. It makes plenty for 4 as a main dish. We found it does not need the added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Goit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States