Mediterranean Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe, but agreed that it could use way less onion. Red onion is quite powerful. I even doubled the recipe and used only one onion. I am not sure we could have eaten it if I had only made one batch. I will be cutting the onion back to 1/2 red onion next time. It was very delicious despite the overpowering onion taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This was good but had WAY too much lemon juice for us. I didn't add the chicken because I didn't have any but followed the other ingredients exactly. After tasting it, I made more quinoa, doubling it to make up for the missing chicken (too much sauce) and it was better but WAY too lemony so I added some sugar and a little more oil to counteract it. It was much better. My husband likes it a lot but I think it is just O.K. Next time I will definitely cut the lemon juice in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Made this last week to take for lunch. As suggested, cooked in the chiceken broth, perfect. Served it chilled. My husband and I absolutly LOVED it! This will be a regular on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I've been meaning to make this recipe for ages but with a new baby it's been tough to find the time. Finally got around to it today and it is fantastic! I did swap out the green pepper for a red one as we don't care for green peppers, and used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. I also added a handful of chopped basil as there's so much in our garden right now. Whole Foods makes a quinoa salad that I'm addicted to and this comes really close! Will make often from now on, baby or not :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Holy moly! I don't generally enjoy quinoa but made this recipe to humor my husband. This was absolutely incredible; so full of flavor. I also cooked the quinoa in chicken broth and added diced cucumber. The lemon flavor is intense, so use less lemon juice if you'd prefer the salad more mild. I thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Great recipe for a summer dinner. Light and satisfying with lots of texture and layers of flavor. Next time I will add a little less lemon juice, as the dressing was a little too citrusy. My very picky six year old really enjoyed it, which is a rarity. Overall, a great salad in which we will do again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Perfect as written, we did add a few veggies and only used a little lemon/oil.A great base, quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kuhre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very good as long as you like quinoa. Go easy on the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
UH-MAZING! This is my first time writing a review, ever. Like others on here I adjusted and added to my family's taste... I used chicken stock instead of water + 1 smashed garlic clove to the stock + quinoa, with 8 minutes cook time remaining I added canned chick peas (drained the chickpea water) to the stock and allowed the stock to evaporate and do it's thing. Removed quinoa from heat and added cilantro (instead of parsley) + chives + olives + sun dried tomatoes + feta. I prefer cooking my veggies so I sautéed red onions + 2 minced cloves of garlic, allowed it to sweat a little, added bell pepper + salt...once cooked to my liking I added it to the quinoa mix. This recipe tasted good even without chicken or the vinegar/lemon/olive oil mix. Def will make this for a larger gathering, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe! We made it ahead of time and let it cool in the fridge, making it a perfect dinner in hot summer weather. We also decided to add tomatoes and black beans to it and loved how it tasted and looked. The only reason it didn't get a 5th star is that it was a bit time consuming with the chopping required...but with some planning ahead, it is pretty simple to make! We will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States