Mediterranean Puff Pastry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I agree with another reviewer who felt you didn't need to marinate the chicken. I skipped that step too- the flavor in this dish is high already. Rose- you are a genius- thanks for sending.I urge beginners to try this-Easy , with impressive results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
MMMMM! Flaky puff pastry, gooey melted cheese, and a wonderful combination of flavors. This is truly a dish that looks like you spent HOURS making... but it took just ten minutes! NOTE: I didn't marinate in the egg yolk; instead, I minced up three cloves of garlic, beat it into an entire egg, and soaked the chicken for just a couple minutes. I don't think the egg/garlic marinade could have possibly made this tastier! There's enough flavor as there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by champ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
It is delicious .....Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
You can sum this up in one word, flavor. Made this just as stated & this is a real nice, easy recipe that I'd use for "special" times. I had reduced the recipe to 2 servings, but will make one minor change next time. I'm going to use only one pastry sheet, cut the chicken into strips & make the servings smaller still. My husband said you could add mushrooms, but I'll decide then. Since I know that using our oven bakes faster than time usually requested, ours was done in 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I followed the directions exactly...turned out excellent...next time I think I will add mushrooms and roasted ren peppers....thnx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was so delicious!! To eliminate some of the calories and fat I substituted whole wheat phyllo dough for the puff pastry. Other than that I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I cut the 2 chicken breasts in half, making 4 pieces. It was really great, though I do plan on making changes the next time. I think I will sprinkle some salt over the chicken breasts and add more feta, pesto and a few more sundried tomatoes for even more flavor. I loved the crispiness of the whole wheat phyllo dough and I plan on making it that way everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
For this recipe I used half a sheet per half a chicken breast and it ended up looking really nice. I did not marinate in the egg because I did not have time. Instead I just brushed the chicken with the egg, and mixed the garlic with the tomatoes. I then brushed the pastry with the egg so that it would be golden. I made this for Valentine's Day, so I drew a heart in the top of the pastry with a knife (making sure not to poke it through all the way). It turned out really cute, and it tasted great! My fiance gave it 5 stars and my father in law got the leftovers and raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was soooo good! I just made it for a Valentine's Dinner and it was a hit! I made 4 big portions (1/2 sheet of pastry used for each portion) and cut them in half for 8 smaller portions (it's actually not that bad nutrition-wise since this is probably the portion you should eat anyways). I marinated the chicken for about 5 hours and used regular feta because the store closest to me didn't have herb feta. I also cut the chicken in bite size pieces. Other than that, I followed the instructions provided and was very satisfied with the results! Paired with a nice salad, side, and glass of wine and you have an amazing dinner! I will be making this again... probably this week some time! Mmmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was fantastic. I felt like we were eating at a restaurant. I would next time pre-cook the chicken a little to eliminate so much juice and soggy puff pastry. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes or basil pesto, but I did use sun-dried tomato pesto with basil in it. It was delicious everyone loved it and I most certainly will make again. Oh, I almost forgot. I pounded the chicken a bit. I liked to make sure my meat is cooked thoroughly. Who wants to go through all that hard work to wind up with under cooked chicken. I don't :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States