Mediterranean Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was sooooo good, and a bright change in flavors from the old mayonnaise-based potato salads. I did add 1 tsp. of sugar to the vinaigrette to cut down on the sourness, and garnished the finished product with a sprinkling of feta cheese. This would also be delicious with chopped black olives. YUM!!! Everyone I've served it to loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
absolutely excellent! nice change of pace from the mayo-based salad. Made changes based on necessity and preference. halved the recipe but kept garlic amount the same. Used red balsamic, dried basil, red onion, fresh chopped parsley, and roma tomatoes squeezed out and seeded. added a bit of lemon zest and 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice to the dressing and this brought on an incredible level of flavor without being overwhelming. Only had honey dijon mustard. The colors are beautiful. Followed the recipe proportions exactly even weighing potatoes, and using measuring cup. I've never had a recipe where the dressing amount was so well-proportioned to the dry ingredients. Just the perfect amount. Excellent flavor and such an eye-appealing dish. **this would be a perfect potato salad to take on a picnic...no mayo to worry about heating up in the sun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
OMG so good! This will be my go-to potato salad from now on. So much healthier than mayo based potato salads! This was absolutely delicious. I didn't have tomatoes so those were omitted. I also used regular balsamic vinegar instead of white balsamic vinegar. I really can't say enough about this salad! One tip: I always overcook my potatoes when I boil them, so I cubed them and roasted them in some olive oil at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes and they were perfect. Because I used olive oil to roast, I cut the oil in the dressing by a tablespoon. I will probably use even less next time. There will definitely be many next times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I tried this for my husband yesterday and we both loved it. Couldn't stay away from it. He grows fresh basil, so that is what I used. Excellent! I will be making this again often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was looking for a copycat recipe for a local restaurant's potato salad, and this came pretty close. Since the potato salad I was trying to replicate only had red potatoes and green onions, I just used that with the dressing. Fantastic! I can't wait to try it "as-is" because even my husband, a non-potato-salad fan, loved it. Feta cheese would probably put it over the top for me (in a very good way!) I'll be using this again. Light and easy - two words I love to associate with any recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This is wonderful! My kids thought it was too strong but my husband and I loved it. Lots of flavors. Would make a great potluck recipe. I used a mixed bag of potatoes from Trader Joes that had a combo of purple, red and white potatoes. It looked lovely with all the colors of the tomatoes, potatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APHRODITEANDVINNY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
What a hit! I don't care for mayo in potato salad, so this recipe was perfect. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried and added fresh cilantro for a green effect. Thank you for sharing, a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing; we absolutely loved this potato salad. For anybody doing Weight Watchers Plus, this calculates to 4 points (WOW!). This is going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Very tasty. Great for a picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I made this today and it is wonderful! I'm going to serve it with grilled porterhouse steaks and feel very good about this meal! A combination of wonderful, fresh flavors AND good for you. What's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrilee H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States