Mediterranean Orzo Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Awesome. This recipe is surprisingly good. The only add that I had was ground turkey to satisfy my husband's need for "meat". Crumbles (fake meat) would be just as good and give extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Very Good! I used this as a side for Maple Salmon on this site. All the ingredients were wonderful together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was ok but nothing amazing. I used ground beef but it was very bland after browning it that I had to add more coriander and I added cumin to make it tastier. I also sauteed the spinach with some garlic just for a second to add more flavor because overall if I hadn't the dish would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Fabulous! My husband and in-laws raved. I used about half the called for lamb and may use a little less next time although we are not big carnivores. I might also lightly rinse the meat after cooking and add the coriander later as the meat was a bit greasy. All the flavors were wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was wonderful although I made several substitutions. I used chicken breast instead of lamb, oregano intead of coriander, red pepper instead of tomato & red onion instead of green onion. Ordinarily, I don't make this many changes to a recipe but I used what I had on hand and it turned out delicious in any case. Try it with chicken and oregano!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
"A big POW for the taste buds," my husband said. I had added a few dashes of cinnamon to the sauteeing meat, as in Arabic and Greek recipes, because the coriander taste seemed too stong. I used a bit (1/2 tsp?) of dried mint for fresh. If it seems bland, try the addition of LEMON PEPPER--really worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I had tons of leftover lamb, so I tried this recipe w/ lamb leftovers cut into small bite size pieces and doubled the orzo pasta. It was awesome! I will definately try this and experiment with a variey of meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
forget the spinach. if no scallions, brown regular onions while browning the lamb. after mixing everything together, bake for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I changed this a lot, but thanks for the basic idea. I made lamb patties, seasoned them w/ garlic, paprika, basil, parsley, black pepper, and a little feta chz and grilled them. Then I took a can of Italian style tomatoes and put it in the skillet and let it come to a boil on med high heat. Then I added frozen spinach that was cooked and drained, extra green onions, garlic, the lemon it called for, and mushrooms instead of orzo. I left out any oil that it called for. Other than the high content of fat in ground lamb, this was a quick, healthy meal (and the whole dish doesn't get greasy from cooking the lamb in the skillet w/ the veggies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
A really great flavor. I used frozen spinach and it worked really well. A delicious dish that is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States