Mediterranean Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Awesome recipe! I made it as an appetizer for my friend's birthday party and everyone loved it! I didn't have any kalamata olives, so I used regular green olives and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This dip was awesome! I made some for a party, and there wasn't a bit of it left, everyone raved about it. It makes a lot of dip too. I will definitely make this agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I may not know what "an unfortunate combination of picquancy" means, but I can tell you that this dip is fabulous. It's one of those recipes that I get asked for every single time I make it. I serve it either or crackers or on veggies and it always disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Not bad! I was looking for something different, this was it. The flavors are very strong even after setting 30 mins. I let it set overnight....much better. Flavors had a chance to even out and blend, seemed creamier to. I also used half the olives as I'm not real big on them and it still left plenty of strong olive flavor, maybe becaused I used mediterranean style? Think I will try a milder olive next time. Served it with crispy everything bagel chips, loved it! Thought they really mixed well together. I was sceptical at first but it has definitely grown on me.......will make this again, since I've managed to eat most of it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was really good. I added a little less of the feta, as it was leftovers from a tub I had. Probably a good thing as it was very forward in this recipe. I also added 5 green manzillas, as I had no kalamatas. It was good overall, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Good. Everyone at the party thought it was delicious. I used roasted garlic to add more flavor. I think next time I will add less cream cheese and more feta and sour cream. However, I am not a huge cream cheese fan in general. Will make again. Taste great with pita chips and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I sent this to a party with a friend as I had to arrive late and everyone was trying to guess what was in it before I arrived. I was attacked for the recipe when I came in. The guys especially liked it. I'll be making it again. I kind of messed with the ingredient amounts as I am not real into measuring and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I enjoy foods with strong flavors, but this recipe is an unfortunate combination of piquancy. The mixture of raw garlic cloves, feta cheese and Kalamata olives nets an end product that I do not care for. Nevertheless you can save this from being a disaster if you 1) add the juice of 1/2 lemon, and 2) add 1 can drained garbanzo beans. Puree together with the rest of the ingredients in the food processor. This will change the dish into a cheesy hummus, which is tasty. However, the red pepper is still overwhelmed, and I would suggest using only 1/2 packet of the onion soup mix, otherwise your dish will be too salty. The fact that the recipe holds such a strong flavor even after the addition of 15 oz. of garbanzo beans gives you some idea of how pungent these components are when combined. It will be some time before I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States