Mediterranean Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I sent this to a party with a friend as I had to arrive late and everyone was trying to guess what was in it before I arrived. I was attacked for the recipe when I came in. The guys especially liked it. I'll be making it again. I kind of messed with the ingredient amounts as I am not real into measuring and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Good. Everyone at the party thought it was delicious. I used roasted garlic to add more flavor. I think next time I will add less cream cheese and more feta and sour cream. However, I am not a huge cream cheese fan in general. Will make again. Taste great with pita chips and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was really good. I added a little less of the feta, as it was leftovers from a tub I had. Probably a good thing as it was very forward in this recipe. I also added 5 green manzillas, as I had no kalamatas. It was good overall, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I may not know what "an unfortunate combination of picquancy" means, but I can tell you that this dip is fabulous. It's one of those recipes that I get asked for every single time I make it. I serve it either or crackers or on veggies and it always disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This dip was awesome! I made some for a party, and there wasn't a bit of it left, everyone raved about it. It makes a lot of dip too. I will definitely make this agan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I enjoy foods with strong flavors, but this recipe is an unfortunate combination of piquancy. The mixture of raw garlic cloves, feta cheese and Kalamata olives nets an end product that I do not care for. Nevertheless you can save this from being a disaster if you 1) add the juice of 1/2 lemon, and 2) add 1 can drained garbanzo beans. Puree together with the rest of the ingredients in the food processor. This will change the dish into a cheesy hummus, which is tasty. However, the red pepper is still overwhelmed, and I would suggest using only 1/2 packet of the onion soup mix, otherwise your dish will be too salty. The fact that the recipe holds such a strong flavor even after the addition of 15 oz. of garbanzo beans gives you some idea of how pungent these components are when combined. It will be some time before I try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Not bad! I was looking for something different, this was it. The flavors are very strong even after setting 30 mins. I let it set overnight....much better. Flavors had a chance to even out and blend, seemed creamier to. I also used half the olives as I'm not real big on them and it still left plenty of strong olive flavor, maybe becaused I used mediterranean style? Think I will try a milder olive next time. Served it with crispy everything bagel chips, loved it! Thought they really mixed well together. I was sceptical at first but it has definitely grown on me.......will make this again, since I've managed to eat most of it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Awesome recipe! I made it as an appetizer for my friend's birthday party and everyone loved it! I didn't have any kalamata olives, so I used regular green olives and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States