Mediterranean Made Rights (Loose Meat Sandwiches) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
We'd never had lamb before and since we are adventurous eaters who enjoy trying new foods, we thought we'd give it a whirl. I went with this recipe because it sounded simple enough and it didn't have any negative ratings. I prepared them exactly as directed and served them with black olives and tomatoes as suggested. I don't know if it is the recipe or just the lamb, but we don't plan on eating this, or lamb, ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Perfect as is!! Good with ground Beef and Turkey. I used a different type of Tzatziki Sauce but this one is good too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Thank you for such a great recipe... This is my family's favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe - used grass fed lamb and the recipe ingredients as described, but increased the herbs used by 50% (though that may be that a lot of our herbs and spices are several years old, thus not as pungent as especially fresh ones). We loved it. A great use of ground lamb. We did not make the dressing but used a commercially marketed tzaziki instead and served on naan with the tzaziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
The meat seasoning is perfect, like a gyros. It is important to note something about the sauce, though. Grocery-store yogurt, when blended, turns to liquid, which is what I forgot when making this. Far better to blend the feta and seasonings into a small bit of yogurt, then gently stir in the additional yogurt. This is wonderful served with sliced fresh onion in it, and a cucumber-tomato salad. ***Last note: This may be six servings, but it does not serve six people!! (Unless each person is fine with only about 3 tablespoons of meat!) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I used turkey instead of the lamb, and tortilla shells instead of the pita bread. The smell is delightful! The meat mixture goes well with the yogurt-feta cheese sauce to create a wonderful tasting meal! Next time, we will try it with the lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
delish! made homemade pita bread to go with and tatziki too. thanks for sharing! the whole family enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
These were good, but not quite what I was hoping for. If I make them again, I don't think I will use the olive oil when browning the lamb, as I think it made it kind of greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Pretty nice twist on the maid rite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent! This was both simple and surprisingly flavorful. I've made it twice now - the first time I followed the recipe exactly as is, and it turned out beautifully. The second time, I halved 3/4 of a cup of grape tomatoes and added them to the lamb mixture near the end of the cooking time (for about a minute), just before serving, with equally great results. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States