Mediterranean Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was probably the easiest last minute dinner idea I have ever had. I was able to throw it together in under 5 minutes. I used bottled lemon juice instead of squeezing a lemon and everything was fine. The only problem I had was with the cooking time which seemed to be a hair too long so I just took it out early. I also mixed the pan juices into some plain white rice and it was absolutely delicious. Overall, this was fast, easy, and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Oh Yum!!!! I doubled the sauce (but not the oregano) as per other reviews, did not marinate as others had done, kept the chicken covered the entire time, and baked for a total of 40 minutes. The meat fell off of the bones! It was so tender & tasty over rice! Thanks!Update! I made this again, this time tripling the sauce and using fresh oregano and lemon thyme. I used one third to marinade some red potatoes and carrots and the rest for the chicken for about an hour. I then threw the veggies in the oven at 400 for about half an hour, then added the chicken for another 40. Served over rice....mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This is a really good chicken recipe. We used boneless breasts, though, and I didn't reduce the cook time. They came out a bit tough, so definitely reduce the cook time if you are using boneless cuts. It was a very flavorful recipe, though, and even my VERY picky 3-year-old ate an entire breast! That's unheard of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I roasted some quartered potatoes along with the chicken and served with a green salad. Everyone liked it. Next time I will double the ingredients for the sauce and marinade for a few hours before cooking as I found the chicken really didn't take on much flavour. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This dish was the first to go at the buffet I brought it to. The kids ate it up. I used fresh oregano and boneless thigh pieces. Also, I cooked them covered to retain the maximum pan juices, which I thickened with a little cornstarch and poured the resulting gravy back over. This held nicely overnight and reheated next day just beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a very good recipe for chicken. Goes nice with pasta. I used boneless chicken breasts so I cooked it the same amount of time, but changed the temp. to 350 degrees. The chicken was juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great recipe! Modified for 2 servings. Used chicken breasts. Added two cloves of garlic. Before removing breasts from oven, drizzled olive oil over meat. Broiled for 2 minutes (High) for browning. It was flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I increased the amount of garlic, but otherwise followed this recipe pretty closely. I did throw some halved new potatoes, artichoke hearts and kalamata olives in to roast with the chicken, and they tasted great cooked in the chicken juices and the sauce. Very good recipe, NIBLETS. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
What a waste of chicken!! This was the worst recipe I have ever tried. Way too much oregano and lemon juice and the chicken was tough. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Great Chicken! I used the juice of two lemons and added a bit more pepper and oregano. I usually up the spices in most recipes for added flavor. I used bone-in chicken breasts and the cooking time was just right. They turned out nicely browned and very flavorful. The basting requires you to stand guard in the kitchen but the taste is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States