Mediterranean Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've been looking for more ways to cook kale and think I've come across a keeper ;) I used equal amounts kale and spinach and served it up with brown rice and chicken breast marinated in teriyaki sauce. Very nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used the juice of one lemon, plus some zest, 1 clove of garlic grated on my microplane, and no additional salt as the soy sauce has plenty. Very tasty! I will make this again, it's easy and a great way to get more of this supperfood into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I added a bit of fresh chopped red cabbage to add a bit of crunchiness and take away a bit of the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I don't have a steamer, so I added some chicken stock at the bottom of the pan and brought it to a boil. I threw in the kale and added the sauce after the kale had cooked down a bit. We all thoroughly enjoyed this in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This salad is DELICIOUS. At first I was a little skeptical as I was steaming the leaves, I thought it was going to be warm. No the mix of lemon juice, minced garlic and soy give this nutritious green a great flavor. will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
OH my, this was awesome! I did cook the kale in a bit of reduced chicken stock (as another reviewer did). The flavor really makes the kale taste meaty. YUM! I did make one boo boo...I wanted to double the sauce but didn't pay attention to the proportions and I made it a little too garlicky. My fault...but I mentioned this to point out that the proportions are just right as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I'd never even had kale before I tried this recipe and now I make it all the time for my husband and I. I use a mixture of kale and spinach and don't measure out the ingredients, just sort of guess until it smells right. I prefer to take all the stems out of the kale before cooking as they don't seem to soften up very well. So yeah, overall, I love this recipe and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very tasty over kale. I made a few additions that kicked it up a notch: a handful of chopped cilantro, some sliced radishes for crunch, and a sauteed red pepper. No matter what other veggies you throw in, I urge you to try adding cilantro, it definitely added depth to the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I LOVED these flavors and the chewy texture of the Kale (over limpness of spinach which I also love.) I did not bother to steam, just rinsed it well in a pan, drained it, and left whatever water clung to the leaves to help with cooking. I added about 1/2 cup of vegetable stock instead of water and brought it to a boil, then turned it down a bit and cooked for 7-8 minutes as directed. I stirred a few times. I didn't bother to drain since a lot of the liquid steamed off anyway. I added the dressing to the hot kale in the pan to warm it up and take the edge off the raw garlic. Then I dished it up with a slotted spoon. The flavors were great, the preparation was very easy, and I love discovering a healthy recipe that is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I tried it once as described, once without the salt and once without the salt but with extra soy sauce and a little bit of red pepper flakes. None of the attempts were well-received. I'll keep using kale in other recipes but this isn't one that I'll repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States