Mediterranean Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've been looking for more ways to cook kale and think I've come across a keeper ;) I used equal amounts kale and spinach and served it up with brown rice and chicken breast marinated in teriyaki sauce. Very nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used the juice of one lemon, plus some zest, 1 clove of garlic grated on my microplane, and no additional salt as the soy sauce has plenty. Very tasty! I will make this again, it's easy and a great way to get more of this supperfood into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MidnightCookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I added a bit of fresh chopped red cabbage to add a bit of crunchiness and take away a bit of the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I don't have a steamer, so I added some chicken stock at the bottom of the pan and brought it to a boil. I threw in the kale and added the sauce after the kale had cooked down a bit. We all thoroughly enjoyed this in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This salad is DELICIOUS. At first I was a little skeptical as I was steaming the leaves, I thought it was going to be warm. No the mix of lemon juice, minced garlic and soy give this nutritious green a great flavor. will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
OH my, this was awesome! I did cook the kale in a bit of reduced chicken stock (as another reviewer did). The flavor really makes the kale taste meaty. YUM! I did make one boo boo...I wanted to double the sauce but didn't pay attention to the proportions and I made it a little too garlicky. My fault...but I mentioned this to point out that the proportions are just right as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I'd never even had kale before I tried this recipe and now I make it all the time for my husband and I. I use a mixture of kale and spinach and don't measure out the ingredients, just sort of guess until it smells right. I prefer to take all the stems out of the kale before cooking as they don't seem to soften up very well. So yeah, overall, I love this recipe and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very tasty over kale. I made a few additions that kicked it up a notch: a handful of chopped cilantro, some sliced radishes for crunch, and a sauteed red pepper. No matter what other veggies you throw in, I urge you to try adding cilantro, it definitely added depth to the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I LOVED these flavors and the chewy texture of the Kale (over limpness of spinach which I also love.) I did not bother to steam, just rinsed it well in a pan, drained it, and left whatever water clung to the leaves to help with cooking. I added about 1/2 cup of vegetable stock instead of water and brought it to a boil, then turned it down a bit and cooked for 7-8 minutes as directed. I stirred a few times. I didn't bother to drain since a lot of the liquid steamed off anyway. I added the dressing to the hot kale in the pan to warm it up and take the edge off the raw garlic. Then I dished it up with a slotted spoon. The flavors were great, the preparation was very easy, and I love discovering a healthy recipe that is so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I tried it once as described, once without the salt and once without the salt but with extra soy sauce and a little bit of red pepper flakes. None of the attempts were well-received. I'll keep using kale in other recipes but this isn't one that I'll repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States