Mediterranean Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was excellent. I substituted salmon, rock fish and scallops for the cod and shrimp. Used fresh cremini mushrooms. Did not have fennel so I omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The best soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was searching for a good recipe that allowed for wiggle room on ingredients - it was clean out the freezer and pantry for soup night. This was perfect. We used up some garbanzo beans, frozen snapper, frozen veggies, and dried mushrooms we had. Substituted anise seed for fennel. Our liquid ingredients were almost identical to the recipe (except we used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth). Fantastic. The soup was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So, so good. Made this for a casual get together for 9 (doubled the recipe) and it was a huge hit. We didn't have much left over at all. Added two potatoes small dice and a half can of white beans pureed to get a little fuller broth. Used red and yellow peppers instead of green, no mushrooms or olives - don't judge, just wasn't feeling it. I like a little spicier soup so added red pepper flakes and tabasco but the basic broth is really delicious so start with that. The orange juice added a very fresh taste but indiscernible. I used shrimp, cod, salmon and scallops, all small dice, and the flavors and textures were wonderful together. Made the broth the day before for ease and to let the flavors blend so 'day of prep' was a breeze. Try this - it's just really great. This is a very forgiving base recipe so have some fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Recipe was just "so-so". My husband and I had it two times and it just didn't get the "keeper" status. Had to use red pepper flakes at the table to give it some pizzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very yummy! Loved the fennel seed taste with the combination of ingredients. Added a whole bell pepper, 2 tsp. of dried parsley, and 2 cans of olives. I cooked it on the stove top on medium high heat. The soup served 8 people. I served this soup along with sauteed asparagus, salmon cakes, and a flan dessert. Will cook again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragazza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
somehow this was my least favorite of the recipes I've made from Allrecipe.com. I'm not sure what it is. Could it be the wine I used? I used tilapia instead of cod; I used frozen shrimp, thawed of course. I just didn't like the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This soup was not bad, but so entirely "so-so" that I will probably never make it again. On the plus side, it was really quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I left out the mushrooms, but did everything else as written. I was surprised how good it was. It was very different with the olives and orange juice, but had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyCeltic
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
5 Stars is not enough! Truly not enough! Making soup is my specialty and this soup is amazing! I had a special request for fish soup from a very picky eater, so when I found this recipe, I thought it sounded good. I was amazed! And the crock pot did most of the work! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned (the picky eater won't eat canned) and I used fresh mushrooms. The picky eater gave this thumbs up, and after three bowls said that he wished he could eat more! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I will add this to my soup repetoire, as it is fabulous and wonderful for Lent! I was also skeptical about the orange juice and I added it, and am so happy that I did! This is a 10 Star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCeltic

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flounder Mediterranean

Healthy baked flounder seasoned with the flavors of the Mediterranean.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States