Mediterranean Chickpea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Four stars as written but five stars with my changes. I used a red onion and about 8 seeded Campari tomatoes. I also added a 4 oz package of crumbled basil & tomato feta cheese and a tablespoon of red wine vinegar. I served this in whole-wheat pita bread with romaine lettuce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Sooooo good! I did change some things: I used purple onion and cilantro instead of parsley (just because I like the flavor better). I added a little salt and pepper to taste and an extra lemon. I could eat this everyday! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a very good basic recipe, with a few addition it's a great salad. It really needs feta cheese, I also added a cucumber and a little of red vinegar. Very light but satisfying salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I marinate all of the ingrediants in a balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil overnight and serve with Hot crusty Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made significant changes to this to give it some pizazz - hence the 3 stars. I added a diced cumcumber, 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar, 1 tsp dried oregano, and doubled most everything else. It's definitely a good base to start with and then play with your own extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Great salad to toss together, though I recommend doing it at least 8 hours before so all the flavors can blend. I used a whole slicing tomato and whole bell pepper, and cilantro instead of the parsley. I also added a tablespoon red wine vineager, added oregeno and cumin for flavor, as well as a salt, pepper, and garlic salt to taste. Next time I think I'll use a red onion, but it was good with a regular Vidalia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDRogers06

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haxtun, Colorado, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not bad at all for a last minute salad in a pinch with all ingredients almost always at hand. Not a big fan of the chopped onion, I'd rather see it very thinly sliced. I welcomed this recipe for its lighter dressing rather than one drowning in vinegar, and the chopped fresh parsley livens this up. The recipe assumes, of course that you'll "salt and pepper to taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Great dish and so healthy. I would recommend using a red onion for additional flavor and letting the salad marinate overnight. It was great as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Brought this to a party and it was a hit! Used grape tomato's instead of romas and added feta cheese (sun dried tomato and basil). The olive oil and fresh lemon juice make an excellent dressing. Fresh and good for you. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Great! I used sundried tomatoes instead of fresh and decreased the oil accordingly. Thanks for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States