Mediterranean Chickpea Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. Very garlicky and very lemony. I actually added about 1/4 packet of stevia to cut the tartness slightly. I don't like raw onion, so I used red pepper instead, and the flavors went well together. I only marinated it for about 45 minutes, and it came out just fine (but even better the next day). The only thing I'd change is I'd use more cilantro. I think this would be good with black olives and fresh tomatoes in addition to the sundried. Oh, and it was very easy to prepare--bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Great recipe! I followed the previous rater's suggestions of adding fresh tomatoes (roma) and olives. It added quite a bit of flavor. I also used gorgonzola cheese instead of feta and added a little fresh pesto sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was so-so to me. The flavor was tangy but not as tasty as I expected. I think I wanted heartier spices with chickpeas, but I don't know which ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Used regular tomatoes instead of sundried. This was great. Very tasty and low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Delish!! The only alteration I made was to use fresh basil instead of cilantro. I used reduced fat feta to make it even healthier. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This recipe is very easy to put together and gets rave reviews on a consistant basis. Due to diatary reasons I can not eat the feta cheese so I make it with out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
good recipe, i didnt use that much onion cos well i dont like onions that much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very nice - left out the feta and sundried tomatoes and used the chickpeas as a salad component, adding the dressing along with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I also used fresh basil instead of cilantro. This was really good. Next time I think I might add some diced red pepper for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I used fresh lemon and skipped the cilantro. Very fresh tasting. My friend loved it and asked for seconds and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States