Mediterranean Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PrettyMama
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight, the cucumber got lost somewhere on the way home from the store, so we didn't have that; I think it would have made a great addition to this dish though! I also just made up a lemon/olive oil dressing with a few dried herbs I had laying around; I drizzled a little over my plate and that was great for me. I think doing as recommended and tossing the vegetables in it would have made the dish too greasy for me. My 2 year old approved and actually ate some (a lot of times she won't even try a dish, so I was pleasantly surprised when she ate a few mouthfuls!) but my picky husband didn't like it and couldn't really place why - he listed a few things and basically it sounds like he didn't enjoy the flavour combination. If you like chickpeas, this is a great meal! Next time I would use cilantro instead of parsley, but that's just a personal preference. Overall I think it turned out great and although I probably won't be making it again for the family (since my husband didn't like it) I would definitely consider making it again, if it were just for me and someone less picky than my husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Not too bad, the lemon juice can be more pronounced though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Instead of using the Adobo seasoning, we used our own mix of pepper and garlic powder. We also splashed it with a bit of red wine vinegar which gave the salad a tangy taste which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Very tasty, I added more lemon and seasoning. My 2 year old daughter loves Chick peas, especially when they're seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We all LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this!!!!! I mixed it up earlier in the day and put it in the fridge to allow the flaovrs to blend. I've never used the Goya(R) Adobo seasoning w/ pepper, but I will never be without it again...soooooo good! The flavors all complimented each other well...this is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I liked this. It was so quick to mix together. I have tried some somewhat similar recipes, but liked the addition of the cubed mozzarella cheese. It made it more filling, like a complete meal. I would be happy with this for lunch, with something small on the side. I followed the recipe exactly just subbing chopped tomatoes and I cubed the mozzarella 1/4." I like how the Adobo seasoning gave the lemon juice and olive oil a little extra flavor without being too strong like some seasonings. Edit note: I have made this at least 3 times since trying this the first time. The olive oil, lemon juice, and Goya seasoning is just a good combination. I like to halve the mozzarella and onion and even a little extra parsley is good. I have added corn and different beans and have even used the dressing with just cucumbers and tomatoes. This salad is fool proof. Just serve it fresh, as with any salad with the dressing mixed in with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this pretty much as written except I forgot to add the cheese. It was great without it, but the next time I will add it. I really liked the brightness of the parsley and lemon juice. The Adobo flavored it just as well as my usual herbs. Thanks Goya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious! I don't keep fresh parsley in my fridge, but I always have cilantro, so I subbed that. I also had sharp cheddar instead of mozzarella and used hierloom baby tomatoes. So good! Even Grumpy, who proclaims to hate chickpeas liked this salad and took it in his lunchbox! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Great flavor in this salad. I didn't have mozzarella so used shredded Mexican blend cheese instead. It did help to let it marinate a little in the fridge to help blend the flavors. I served it over fresh baby spinach. Overall, quick and a really nice side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I recently started LOVING chickpeas so I've been trying a bunch of different salad recipes. This is by far the best! I had never used Goya Adobo seasoning before this and I'm sold! This salad is so easy, yet full of flavor. I love the addition of mozzarella cheese. I did find it slightly salty, but I did not use low sodium chickpeas, so that was likely part of the problem. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States