Mediterranean Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This chicken dish is really good. I make it according to the recipe except I don't like thyme and parsley so I leave those out. I serve it with mashed potatoes and it's delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Following earlier suggestions I used 2 large cans of diced tomatoes, doubled the garlic and fresh basil, added crushed red pepper, hot sauce and sprinkled on a little dried thyme. I also used a jar of spaghetti sauce to thicken the sauce. Just before serving I removed the chicken (which I had cut into strips) to a separate platter and sprinkled it with kalamata olives, toasted pine nuts and feta cheese. I served thin spaghetti and the sauce in separate bowls and let each person help himself. A resounding success. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Frankly I had mixed feelings about this dish. My husband really liked it and thought there was a lot of flavor. I felt I had to make too many changes to give it 5 stars and if I could I would have gone 3 ½. I cut the pieces of chicken into bite sized pieces and grilled them in butter (yeah, I know) and the white wine. I also seasoned the chicken at this point which you really want to do or the flavor is a bit weak even with the sauce. I also used canned tomatoes in their juices as another reviewer recommended. It definitely needed the pepper flakes to give a bit of a kick too. Also, the sauce got too dry as it was simmering so I added more wine as needed. I cut the olives into little pieces too so it would mix well with the other flavors and so I wouldn’t get an entire olive in a bite. They really made the dish. But now that I had this chicken mixture how was I going to serve it? So I took a package of dried vermicelli and browned the noodles in butter. Then I added it to one can of chicken broth. By the time the noodles were done the broth was soaked into it was perfect. I served the chicken mixture over the chicken flavored noodles and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is an easy dish to prepare but disappointing. I thought it lacked flavor and there wasn't anything that made it stand out. Needs more flavor. Maybe will add the red pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! It's not often that I try recipes on here that I don't have complaints about, but this is certainly one. Wonderful mediterranean flavors. The olive are really what made the recipe. Could still be made without them if you don't like olive but I couldn't go without them. If your grocery store has the olive bar definitely get some good greek olives from there to throw in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This does smell great, but it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. I think I'll try this again, though, and add the artichokes and feta...that should help a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great simple dish. Followed pretty much exactly. Used fresh cherry tomatos (cut in half). As others reviewed. 1 - do not cook tomatos for 10 minutes, 2 - added crumbled feta at the end 3 - served with orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Overall a simple dish to put together and the kalamata olives are the stars of the show for sure! So, if you enjoy kalamata olives, you might enjoy this dish. However, I felt like I am eating olives with chicken instead of chicken with olives. Maybe this is what mediterranean dishes are like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This recipe was okay. I left out the olives and used canned chopped tomatoes. Other than that I followed the recipe and it lacked any real flavor so once it was finished I had to stand and add a whole bunch more spices and I can't even remember now what I added. I will make it again but will be prepared to add significantly more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States