Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was good. Eggplant was a little mushy but I'll chalk it up to my first time ever cooking with eggplant. The only thing I did differently was I only used 4 chicken breasts (that's what I had.) And before baking I sprinkled the top with panko and parmasean. Then for the last few min I put it on broil without the cover. It was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This was an easy delicious dish that my husband picked out and made. We did substitute red wine for the water as someone suggested. Also I had some thick leftover tomato sauce that we used instead of the paste. This is definitely a keeper. Yummy, yummy, yummy plates were clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valfaulkner79
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The husband and I thought this dish turned out delicious! The only thing we added was a good amount of mozzerella sprinkled on top after it was finished baking. Very good and lots of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valfaulkner79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe was fantastic. I made a few modifications based on what was in my cabinet, but I am thinking the effect was very similar. Instead of tomato paste and water, I used a cup of spaghetti sauce for 1/3rd of the recipe (2 chicken breasts and one eggplant). After placing the eggplant in the pan, I covered it with a layer of fresh tomatoe slices. I topped this with the chicken, onion, sauce mixture and baked for the recommended time. Delicious and interesting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Added 3 cloves of garlic while cooking the chicken and onions. Overall the dish had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was an excellent recipe that even my boyfriend loved, and he had told me previously that he didn't even like eggplants! I followed the directions except I cubed both the chicken and the eggplant, and added a lot more oregano. I also topped everything before baking with grated parmesan cheese and sliced green onions. I willl be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was really great! My husband cleaned his plate and he's not particularly fond of eggplant. I pretty much followed the directions except I cut the eggplant into cubes, tossed it with some water and kosher salt then let it sit in a colander for about 20 minutes. Before sauteing I rinsed the salt off. I cooked the chicken with the onion and a clove of crushed garlic. I also sprinkled on some crumbled feta cheese after removing from the oven. I think the feta gave it a much better flavor than adding a layer of ricotta cheese like some reviews said. Ricotta is pretty bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I was given 2 eggplants, lots of green onions, a huge amount of grape tomatoes and had chicken breasts thawing in the fridge so I googled the ingredients and it brought me here to this recipe. I did switch it up some, I followed the advice on salting and draining the eggplant, cooked it, the chicken chunks, added the grape tomatoes, sliced baby bella mushrooms, white an green onions, added half a bag of frozen green/red/yellow bell pepper strips, one can of petite tomatoes and spices. I googled Mediterranean spices and was given a mixture of cinnamon, cumin, coriander (used dried cilantro), rosemary, oregano (Mexican was all I had) salt/pepper and added it all, to taste..turned out to be the best dish ever!! Over rice, it's fantastic! Definitely going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I used nearly the entire 6 oz can of tomato paste and about 3 generous tsp oregano. I layered, eggplant + ricotta cheese + chicken tomato layer. I used too much oil and a few pieces of the eggplant got saturated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Excellent. Chicken was very tender. Even better flavor the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States