Mediterranean Chicken with Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by keh906
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I took the advice of some of the reviewers and sweated the eggplant for roughly a half hour instead of submerging in water. I added two cloves of garlic to the chicken/onion mixture for added flavor and also added dollops of ricotta cheese to the tops of the eggplant medallions before adding the chicken mixture. The dish turned out much sweeter than I expected for a "Mediterranean" dish - this is not a negative criticism, just trying to establish accurate expectations. I paired it with a crisp summer salad (romaine, shredded carrots, strawberries, toasted walnuts, blue cheese, cherry tomatoes). In the future, I will go the route of bolder Mediterranean flavors both in seasoning the chicken and in the side salad (cucumber, tomato, mint, feta, kalamita olives, etc). A good recipe lends itself to varying tastes/regional influences; THIS is that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Pretty darn good. I added a bit of spice and I honestly fear that if I didnt add the cayenne and chili pepper it wouldnt be as nice. I added alot more oregano as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe came out better then I expected. I followed the recipe almost to the letter, I added garlic to my chicken and onions, I read another review where someone added Black Olives I think I will do the same the next time. I could also see this recipe substituting fish for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYcentral57

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very very good -- with a few other reviewers' suggestions incorporated. I marinated the chicken cubes in a mix of red wine vinegar / EVOO / salt and pepper, to very good effect (juicy and tender, even though had been frozen). Suggest sautéing chicken separately from onions and garlic - it will brown better, giving much more flavor. Needs garlic; suggest making more sauce (tomato paste and liquid) using red wine for half the liquid. I cubed the eggplant, and instead of grilling it tossed with EVoO and stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes, stirring once. Used lots of herbs. Topped with mozz and parm for last ten minutes in the oven. Served with cumin roast potatoes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I did as others had suggested. Sweated the eggplant out of water and marinated the chicken (lemon zest of one lemon, lemon juice, EVOO, balsamic vinegar). On top of the eggplant I added thin slices of feta. I also added a bunch of garlic when I cooked the chicken and onion. I used chicken broth instead of water and tomato sauce (because I had a little left over in frig). I added a pint of cherry tomatoes halved when I added the broth/sauce. It was awesome! Served next to rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Excellent start for a good old fashioned recipe from the Med. I disagree with others about sweating the eggplant. This is how my grandmother always did it (soaking in salt water Don't boil it!,)and I've tried every variation under the sun and this is simple and gets the same result. Just soak it. It doesn't get soggy or soft. Anyway, skip the ricotta(this isn't eggplant Parmesan) ,and mix some goat cheese into the tomato paste instead, use chicken stock instead of water, and throw some green and a bit of chicken stock in the bottom of the baking dish. Serve with rice w/ some lentils. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Not sure if Mediterranean flavors work for my family. I will try a different dish and see if it is received more warmly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We had an Italian restaurant in the 80's...we NEVER boiled our eggplant. We sliced them about a 1/2 inch thick then salted them to make them "weep" and then processed them accordingly. If you boil the eggplant, you are removing way too much of the nutrients and it makes it super mushy. I also add freshly grated parmesean or romano cheese ~~~ you only need a little and it perks up the flavor of the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! Marinated the chick. in olive oil, lemon, med. seasoning & garlic. I used Basil, oregano and garlic tomato paste and used about 1/2 the can. Cooked the chicken in garlic and onion. Sprinkled the eggplant with feta, then the chicken when removing from oven. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was a decent healthy recipe. I ended up stir-frying the eggplant slices because they just wouldn't get fully cooked in the oven. I used 1 tsp. oregano and thought that was plenty for us. I would make this again as healthy but tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States