Mediterranean Chicken Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was pretty good. Made the recipe as written, except that i heated the chicken, tomato, basil and olives in a skillet. Then I added everything to the bowl with the lemon juice and olive oil, and mixed. We did add more Parm on top, but second helpings all around :) It can be a bit on the bland side, but for me, it's a good recipe to add to the box for a very quick dinner on a week that we may be eating out or having some richer dishes, to balance my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was good. Pretty straightforward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We used used a can of black beans rather than the chicken, since my DH is a vegetarian, but we all loved it. I'll probably try vegetarian "chicken" strips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is supposed to be four servings, but we've had four and have at least another four left. The recipe calls for way too much orzo; I had to tweak lots of quantities. One pinch of salt for a pound of pasta??? Not enough pepper, lemon, olive oil, basil, olives, or Parmesan either. I would have added more tomatoes, but since they were so messy to cut (due to being oil packed), added red pepper instead. Next time, I'll use 10 oz of orzo instead of 16, and reduce the chicken. I did enjoy trying the oil-packed sun dried tomatoes, and while I was at it got oil cured olives as well - turns out I like these way more than regular olives. I added green beans because that's what's popping in my garden. I took off a star because the proportions were so far off, but less experienced cooks might want to mentally take off another few stars and be prepared to do a lot of adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was delicious! I am lucky enough to have a boyfriend whose a chef and every once in awhile I get to cook for him and he was very impressed with this dish! Even went back for seconds! :) I substituted the basil, olive oil, and lemon juice with Italian dressing and marinated the chicken in Italian dressing as well. Also, I added in black olives. Simply amazing! I will definitely be making this dish and adding different things to it each time! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
it was just ok. As another review stated, I will add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Great for a quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Way too large of a portion per person! This could feed 8 people easily. Taste was somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roni Rogers
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I used farfalle pasta instead of orzo, slightly less pasta (could probably just add a little more olive oil if you're using 16 oz of pasta), feta vs. parmesean, added onion and garlic (powder for me!), mushrooms, and black and green olives along with Kalamata (I love olives!). Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious..very light. I used roisterrie chicken from Sam's Club which was great! Made it for a Bunco group of 12 ladies...got rave reviews! Put the chicken in a crock pot to warm, added all the other ingreidents and served from the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States