Mediterranean Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent with the following changes: --use 1/2 cup whole Kalamata olives instead of 1/4 c chopped --use 3/4 teaspoons dry mustard instead of Dijon --use olive oil instead of vegetable oil --increase feta cheese to 5 oz and mix with all ingredients --serve salad chilled. I'm thinking about adding pine nuts and trying craisins instead of raisins next time. This recipe is liked by our picky eater in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made this like the helpful reviewer suggests with carrots and celery, white balsamic vinegar and olive oil since I didn't have green peas or red balsamic. Next time I'll try using 1 cup of rice and cut the oil and vinegar in half - a little oily for me. I would suggest cutting the olives in half, with that much rice it's difficult to get an olive for every serving. Delicious! J.I.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This came out great!! Made a large serving and the leftovers are better than the original as the sauces have time to soak in! Changed raisins to dried cranberries but given the flavors I could see the raisins working too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I changed raisins to cranberries (dried) and added walnuts and cilantro. It was well received, but not rave reviews. Perhaps the wrong crowd - it was a potluck with college students. I think I'll try the recipe with quinoa instead of rice and it might be lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Amazing taste and texture. I made double the dressing and that was a mistake but it was still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn't like the balsamic vinegar and dijon mustard flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Used olive oil, white balsamic, and soaked the raisins in warm water for five minutes or so to soften. Tried it on my husband then made it for a party. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I enjoyed this unique and different salad alot! I made some slight adjustments but otherwise stayed true to the recipe and enjoyed the combination of ingredients that made this savory and sweet salad. I used a rice blend instead of all brown and used 1/2 cup diced carrots and 1/2 cup of diced celery and omitted the peas. I also diced the red pepper and used 1/2 cup. I used white balsamic vinegar and loved the mild and pleasant sweet flavor combined with the tang of the Dijon mustard. The feta cheese was the crown jewel tying it all together. I liked it best after it was chilled. I will make this again without a doubt. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Recipe Group selection 5/26/12. Sadly, this just didn't fly at our house and I think it was the rice because all the other flavors were good. I think I will try it again with orzo and I bet that will work. I will come back and edit my review when I do it. Thanks, Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 26, May 2012 ~ Mixed reactions from this household. DS didn't care for it at all, DH thought it was ok, but could live without it. I on the other hand loved it. I halved the recipe and omitted the olives due to personal taste and subbed craisins for the raisins. Really liked what the Feta cheese added to this. I will be making a batch of this for future lunches, even if no one but me will be eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States