Mediterranean Breakfast Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
A fantastic dish! I felt it was sweet enough as it was for a breakfast dish, so I didn't modify in any way. It was the perfect combination of sweet, salty, and nutty. Definitely a wonderful dish to start the day with. Great texture. Also wasn't too heavy or too light, perfect for a breakfast dish and held me over just fine until lunch time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I'm surprised by how much I loved this recipe. As other users suggested, I cut the salt to 1/4 tsp. I used Trader Joes' Honey Roasted Sliced Almonds because that's what I had on hand. I also have been eating this cold and it's delicious. My mom prefers to have it warmed up. Lasted well throughout the week. I plan on making this again throughout the spring and summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Such a nice change from my morning oatmeal. I reduced the salt and used stevia in place of the honey. Omitted the nuts and mixed with a diced apple and a few dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Eh, this was all right -- other people may like it more, but I wasn't sold by the consistency or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraB
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I heated the Quinoa and cinnamon too long and the cinnamon had too much of a taste to it. Next time I will use half of the cinnamon. Otherwise this would have been very good! Looking for ways to add whole grain to our regime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I wanted to love this, but I should've paid closer attention to the reviews. Seems like the two main complaints (too much salt and the fact that it boils over easily) were also my main issues with the recipe. I used 1/2 tsp sea salt, when using just a pinch would've sufficed. As a quinoa newbie, I forgot to rinse it, so I'll definitely do going forward. I didn't have dates (which I adore and would've improved the flavor), so I subbed out some pomegranate craisins. I also used toasted walnuts in lieu of the almonds and added more cinnamon while it was simmering. I will definitely tweak this for next time and try again, as I'm trying to incorporate more quinoa into our family's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It is a little salty, but it's also AWESOME. I added some chopped fresh ginger and it's super duper yummy. I used golden raisins for the dried fruit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LROSM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Just wanted to address the "too much salt" comments; I used flaked sea salt, which is a lot more delicate than regualr table salt. So if you're using conventional salt, do lower the amount to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Be sure to use yellow quinoa. I used red quinoa (quinoa with the hull) and it took a lot more liquid and about a half hour more time to get a nicely cooked cereal. The fruit and spice amounts needed to be increased slightly as well but that can be done at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I LOVE salty things & was intrigued by salt/milk mixture. Unfortunately, it was too salty as written. Would suggest 1/2 amount of salt. Also a little bland, so I would add more honey or sugar next time. Perfect winter food b/c it was surprisingly filling! Couldn't eat more than 1 cup's worth and was full 'til 2pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States