Mediterranean Black Olive Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
It's not too much work, which makes the payoff even better! I used oil cured olives and it came out delicious!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Excellent!! My husband and I both loved it and I will make this again and again. We had been buying this expensive olive bread at the supermarket but no more, this is much better. The only thing I changed was baking temp. I baked at 350 through the whole time. We had a soft crust but wanted and liked it that way. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
i used my bread machine to kneed the dough and my oven to proof...it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I substitued a few items, but all around a great recipe. I can't believe how great tasting this is. I used unpitted Kalamata Olives and peeled by hand, they have 10 times more flavor than the pitted ones. Some Fresh Bakers Yeast and greek olive oil with tsp. of thyme worked wonders with Gold Medal (better for bread) flour. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have never baked bread before. I made this recipe and loved it. The second time I made it I followed some of the suggestions and backed the initial temperature down to 450. The crust was thicker and cruchier than when I started at 500. I did note that at 500 the water pan was really pumping out the steam. Not so at 450. I think I'll stick with the 500 degee start. I did add a hint of garlic and some chopped fresh basil the second time. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Perfect but water is too much, it can be only 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The bread came out with a great texture and looks exactly like the photo. I baked at 425 for 15 minutes and 350 for 30 minutes. It is virtually flavorless however, so I highly recommend adding some seasoning to it... rosemary, salt, etc. I look forward to trying this again with seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
My first ever loaf of bread and I was not very impressed. After having some homemade olive bread at a party and serendipitously coming across this recipe, I thought I'd give it try. I was rather disappointed with the results. After reading manwithabook's review and other bread recipes I too decided not to bake at 500'F so maybe that was a factor. I only had all purpose flour and I used a variety of olives from the olive bar from the local supermarket which were rather salty. Texture: too soft outside and inside. Flavor: except for the bits of olive, the bread itself lacked depth. Tasted a little too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
this recipe is wonderful! I have made it at least a dozen times now and its come out beautifully every time. I bake at 400 for 15 minutes and then lower to 350 and the bread comes out nicely toasted and soft. I have made this with a variety of different olives and have also made it into a raisin bread (raisins, brown sugar, and cinnamon) as well as adding cranberries and walnuts. You can split the ingredients into 4 buns as well if you want smaller servings sizes. Thank you so much for this recipe its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Spatula
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I baked this bread on the Pizza Stone. The Stone helps to make an even crust on the bottom. I pre-heated the oven on 500 for 30 minutes with the stone INSIDE. Then I lowered the temperature to 375 and I added the bread on parchment to bake for 45 minutes. If you don't have the stone bake it for 375 for 45 minutes. It makes a wonderful bread! Very soft inside and perfect to eat with soups, salads, or sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Spatula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States