Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This salad is okay, but I don't like black olives and I thought it was missing something. I substituted Kalamata olives for the black olives, used basil instead of cilantro, and added chopped cucumber. You can also add a can of garbanzo beans to make it a vegetarian main dish. We topped with feta cheese, for a real Mediterranean flair. With the modifications, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is a very good healthy salad. I decided to get "creative", and I added a large spoonful of a great artichoke tapenade (Gertie's) that I got at Costco....it was a huge jar & I was looking for more ways to use it up. The second time I made this salad I used roasted red peppers (in the jar) in place of the dried tomatoes in the dressing. Yum, yum. A great salad to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent salad. Someone mentioned having the feeling that something was missing. I agree, I added a 1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese and a little bit of salt and it worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Delicious! I doubled the dressing, used basil instead of cilantro, kalamata olives, and made it one day in advance. Before serving, I added feta cheese and some finely diced red bell pepper for colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I've been looking for more ways to include healthy grains into my family's diet, and this salad worked perfectly as a side. It was yummy, satisfying, and easy to make! I'm going to have the leftovers for lunch today. I didn't change anything, although the olives I bought at the deli were marinated in olive oil and mixed with pine nuts which was a nice addition to the salad. I might add some chili pepper flakes next time, just to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Love this recipe. I added toasted pine nuts, more olive oil folded in and a little bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
although DH and I enjoy trying new recipes, this was a total flop. May have been a texture issue for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
One of my favorite recipes. Barley is a nice change of pace for a salad. I add chicken and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetoeat
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly and threw in a handfull of pine nuts at the end. I thought it was delish just after making and look forward to tomorrow since every one said it gets better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Diced green pepper and red onion made great additions to this recipe. Better after 1 day once the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States