Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Omitted olives and cilantro. Added red bell pepper, cucumber, feta cheese, and fresh basil. Served cold... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Made recipe as directed and then added extra chopped sun dried tomatoes. Would definitely try kalamata olives next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Very good when a bunch of veggies are added-onion, cucumber, green pepper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is a really easy salad to experiment with! I followed the recipe but added in red onion, red and yellow peppers, and cucumbers. I think feta would be a nice addition as well, but didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I replaced the cilantro with 2 Tbsp of basil pesto and omitted 2 Tbsp of the olive oil. I also added some blue cheese. Overall, it is a delicious side of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was surprisingly good. I didn't have barley but I used PC brand Brown Rice with Barley and Spelt. Otherwise made as directed. Even those in the house who aren't crazy about cilantro liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This isn't a bad starter recipe, but it definitely needed some add in's after my initial tasting. I chose to add an additional tbsp of vinegar, but used red wine for this (I had already used the balsamic), I used a two ounce can of sliced black olives and 2 ounces of sliced green olives with pimento's and about 1 tbsp of the olive brine. I cooked the barley itself in beef broth for additional flavor. When I was mixing the salad, I used about 1/2 a cup of chopped green pepper and added 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of parmesan cheese (I wish I had feta, but used what was on hand). I had used oregano in the sun dried tomato puree and also threw in a handful of fresh spinach (extra veggies!). At the end I added salt to taste in addition to the cilantro, though I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I agree with some of the comments. I substituted fresh basil for the cilantro and threw in some feta cheese. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The tomatoes were very sour... maybe would be better with the feta in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Really Good. I added feta for an extra kick. Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States