Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for! Wonderful, extremely flavorful and my husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Good but not great. It's missing something, just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Love this recipe. I added toasted pine nuts, more olive oil folded in and a little bit of red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is really flavorful. I was liberal with the vinegar and garlic, but I don't think I needed to worry about enough flavor! I think I'll try it with basil and feta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is great!! I skipped the cilantro and added chicken and feta. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is a very good healthy salad. I decided to get "creative", and I added a large spoonful of a great artichoke tapenade (Gertie's) that I got at Costco....it was a huge jar & I was looking for more ways to use it up. The second time I made this salad I used roasted red peppers (in the jar) in place of the dried tomatoes in the dressing. Yum, yum. A great salad to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is great! I took the hint from MrsBoumendil and added pine nuts. Delicious. It doesn't say in the recipe if sun dried tomatoes in oil are used or just the dried one. I used just the plain dried ones (much less calories) and it worked out perfectly. Can't wait to eat some more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is a great salad and very easy to make! I accidentally got quick cooking instead of regular barley. I used 1 1/3 cups with 2 cups of water and only cooked it for 8 minutes. This worked. Although, I am going to be more careful and buy regular pearl barley next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Blann McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I've been looking for more ways to include healthy grains into my family's diet, and this salad worked perfectly as a side. It was yummy, satisfying, and easy to make! I'm going to have the leftovers for lunch today. I didn't change anything, although the olives I bought at the deli were marinated in olive oil and mixed with pine nuts which was a nice addition to the salad. I might add some chili pepper flakes next time, just to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States