Mediterranean Barley Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This isn't a bad starter recipe, but it definitely needed some add in's after my initial tasting. I chose to add an additional tbsp of vinegar, but used red wine for this (I had already used the balsamic), I used a two ounce can of sliced black olives and 2 ounces of sliced green olives with pimento's and about 1 tbsp of the olive brine. I cooked the barley itself in beef broth for additional flavor. When I was mixing the salad, I used about 1/2 a cup of chopped green pepper and added 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of parmesan cheese (I wish I had feta, but used what was on hand). I had used oregano in the sun dried tomato puree and also threw in a handful of fresh spinach (extra veggies!). At the end I added salt to taste in addition to the cilantro, though I used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I agree with some of the comments. I substituted fresh basil for the cilantro and threw in some feta cheese. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The tomatoes were very sour... maybe would be better with the feta in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Really Good. I added feta for an extra kick. Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe idea. I put my own spin on it because I wanted noticeable chunks of sun dried tomatoes in every bite. I used a good basil pesto, thinned with a bit of the olive oil and balsamic, for the dressing, omitted the cilantro, and stirred in chopped sun dried tomatoes along with the olives. Delicious! I might try some finely chopped red onion too next time - and there will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
A great base salad for eating all by itself, or by adding some of the items suggested by others (e.g. feta cheese, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pretty good I used basil as well because I do not care for cilantro very much. I agree it needs something so I will have to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
although DH and I enjoy trying new recipes, this was a total flop. May have been a texture issue for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Photo by lovetoeat
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly and threw in a handfull of pine nuts at the end. I thought it was delish just after making and look forward to tomorrow since every one said it gets better. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
One of my favorite recipes. Barley is a nice change of pace for a salad. I add chicken and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Barley Salad

A chilled grain salad with sun-dried tomatoes in a balsamic dressing.

Mediterranean Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad loaded with fresh Mediterranean flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States